displaying posts 1 to 25 of 104

Pages (5): [1] 2 3 .. last

Author Subject: 306 Gti 6 modest budget Racing Project.
pebbles167

Seasoned Pro

Post #1
Morning guys,

Thought I'd start a post in here, as it seems like the best place to start.

I've owned my 6 since October 2009, we've had highs (ferrying myself and my daughter around faultlessly for years)and lows (binning it at combe a few weeks back) but its arguably still the best vehicle I've ever had. Since I was a kid I've always wanted to race cars, and I think now the time has come.

For many people, racing seems an unreachable task, I'm hoping to disprove that.

The point I'm making here is that ill be racing on a budget (not dangerously low) and hopefully this will give those of you out there questioning weather you can race or not, the chance to see what I'm spending and how that money is being spent. I will be putting prices up of every bit of kit I buy, and every penny I spend.

Although I'm a semi trained mechanic, I'm not especially good at it, so ill be working closely with a group of friends and will hopefully get the forums support! I've been following owains "track cars for dummies" thread as much as possible!

After a brief talk with Carl chambers, I've decided to join the "classic sports car club" and enter my car into their "tin tops" series.

First things first, get a national b racing licence.

Watch this space, pics and videos to follow.

Cheers, pebbles Thumbs up.

2005 Peugeot 206 GTI 180

2008 BMW K1200R
Posted 13th May 2013 at 08:45
daver6

Seasoned Pro

Post #2
Interesting little project, you'll have to show the cost spent to race wins ratio!

I think that's the issue for most. You spent a lot of money getting to be able to race, but how many expensive seasons are you going to race at the back of the grid? I'd imagine, depending on class regs, you'll be wanting some wins and needing longer arms?

Red Rallye - Rolling "restoration"

Wishbone Polybushes available