displaying posts 1 to 13 of 13

Author Subject: Steering wheel controls
Rix13

Regular

Location: Scarborough

Registered: 06 Oct 2011

Posts: 157

Status: Offline

Post #1
Right finally got round to getting a CD player and its got OEM steering wheel something or other which is basically a single wire from the CD player that can be used to wire in the steering wheel controls. any chance this can be used or will i have to buy the adapter? my stalk control has 4 wire off it

________________________________________

www.eastcoastmodified.org

E46 318i tourer SE - Dog Car/Work horse
306 Gti - Track Project
Posted 3rd Apr 2012 at 17:40
6waysforward

Seasoned Pro

Location: Benfleet essex

Registered: 30 Oct 2005

Posts: 3,168

Status: Offline

Post #2
You will most likely need a adaptor. What make is the headunit??

________________________________________

***Breaking*** Ph3 Silver GTI 6 High Boost Superman




Posted 3rd Apr 2012 at 19:43
dragoon

Seasoned Pro

Location: Ghent - Belgium

Registered: 30 Dec 2008

Posts: 1,071

Status: Offline

Post #3
sony or pioneer? you'll need an adapter indeed.

Pioneer ones are about 45 mind, while the control-stick sucks anyhow...

________________________________________

Team Wheelwhore
Team Limited Edition

Astor 306 Francorchamps RIP
Virtual Blue 208 GTi

quote:
I Love this place. So many illiterate deluded fool's acting 'ard . . . and so many literate intelligent people to rip them apart and knock them back down again . . . ahh Cool
Posted 3rd Apr 2012 at 20:35
Rix13

Regular

Location: Scarborough

Registered: 06 Oct 2011

Posts: 157

Status: Offline

Post #4
its a JVC one and they tend to be pretty similar to sony, was guessing would need the adapter but cba with sheeling out £20 for one lol

________________________________________

www.eastcoastmodified.org

E46 318i tourer SE - Dog Car/Work horse
306 Gti - Track Project
Posted 3rd Apr 2012 at 23:28
mik

Seasoned Pro

Location: Kent

Registered: 17 Feb 2011

Posts: 2,100

Status: Offline

Post #5
...and even if you get it, it might not work properly. Mine kind of worked but changed the station when I adjusted the volume, which was really annoying. I mucked around with it, reset it, tried another stalk, etc etc but it still played up. Now I've removed the whole stalk until I decide what to do with it.

EDIT: Mine was an Autoleads adapter for a Blaupunkt head unit, but early type stalk. Maybe later 306 stalk with ISO connector is better, but I'd have to buy later Autoleads adapter too.

________________________________________

Cherry Rallye SOLD

Posted 4th Apr 2012 at 17:26
darkgti6

Seasoned Pro

Location: Bracknell

Registered: 07 Jun 2008

Posts: 1,358

Status: Offline

Post #6
I've got a pioneer headunit and autoleads adapters to make it work on the stalk. Nice when its done. The adapters have a ridiculous amount of cables though I thought it was a joke to begin with.

________________________________________

Team Peugeot Sport 308 Gti

Black T'99 Gti - may she rest in peace - written off in a shunt on the A329m
Posted 4th Apr 2012 at 20:58
Rix13

Regular

Location: Scarborough

Registered: 06 Oct 2011

Posts: 157

Status: Offline

Post #7
yer they look messy and its a tight squeeze as it is with out more wires lol

________________________________________

www.eastcoastmodified.org

E46 318i tourer SE - Dog Car/Work horse
306 Gti - Track Project
Posted 5th Apr 2012 at 15:11
simonjames

Seasoned Pro

Location: Whitland S.Wales

Registered: 23 Nov 2004

Posts: 6,220

Status: Offline

Post #8
I have a Sony with all the adapter gubings but doesnt work as factory 1 did

________________________________________

All South Wales Members Click Here
Team Supercharged Black RALLYE (Click Here for Build Project)
MY EBAY ITEMS

07943066306
Posted 5th Apr 2012 at 15:16
stan_306gti6 Forum Admin

Location: Kent

Registered: 18 Jan 2004

Posts: 21,784

Status: Offline

Post #9
I've got an Alpine head unit in mine. Bought the separate adaptor when I bought it and it's just a plug and play unit with ISO plugs on.. Works fine. Yes

________________________________________

"Supercharged - 454.1bhp/317.5lb/ft"
Peugeot 306 GTi-6
2000 (X), Moonstone Love
Posted 6th Apr 2012 at 08:11
parrotno1

Regular

Location: Wiltshire

Registered: 01 Jul 2005

Posts: 154

Status: Offline

Post #10
I have alpine headunit, could you post link of what I'd need to get this working? Many thanks
Posted 8th Jun 2012 at 23:09
mik

Seasoned Pro

Location: Kent

Registered: 17 Feb 2011

Posts: 2,100

Status: Offline

Post #11
You need two bits - the unit itself that mates to the stalk (2 different types depending on Phase 1/2 (large black stalk connector) or Phase 3 (smaller coloured ISO stalk connector)), and the patch lead for whatever stereo you are using. Will cost around £30 for both bits. The link below is for the earlier type (part no: PC99-X19), but the same company sells all the bits and can advise you on compatibility. I used it for something else and the people there were very helpful.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/PC99-X19-Peugeot-206-306-Stalk-Adaptor-Radio-Steering-Controls-Free-Patch-Lead-/150696203180

People get varying results with these so if you buy it and doesn't work you are on your own. My Phase 2 type did not work properly as stated above with the Blaupunkt head unit. Even if you have a Phase 1/2 car I would suggest getting the later Phase 3 stalk (less than £10 off ebay and easy to change over - just attaches to the steering wheel cowling with a couple of screws and wire dead easy to feed through dash), and the matching adapter for Phase 3 cars (Part no: PC99-X23).

________________________________________

Cherry Rallye SOLD

Posted 8th Jun 2012 at 23:42
parrotno1

Regular

Location: Wiltshire

Registered: 01 Jul 2005

Posts: 154

Status: Offline

Post #12
Might leave it for now, I use an alpine remote as it is so I'm just being anal about having it working I guess!
Posted 9th Jun 2012 at 12:15
mik

Seasoned Pro

Location: Kent

Registered: 17 Feb 2011

Posts: 2,100

Status: Offline

Post #13
parrotno1 wrote:
...I'm just being anal about having it working I guess!


I was that way but after spending money/time to no avail for no other reason than it was there and I wanted it to work have deleted the stalk entirely and I'm going to get the hole in the cowling covered over and do without.

________________________________________

Cherry Rallye SOLD

Posted 9th Jun 2012 at 14:21

All times are GMT. The time is now 09:04

The Peugeot GTi-6 & Rallye Owners Club Ltd - Registered in England & Wales - Reg No: 07410694 - ©2023 all rights reserved.

Please Note : The views and opinions found herein are those of individuals, and not of The Peugeot 306 GTi-6 & Rallye Owners Club Ltd or any individuals involved.
No responsibility is taken or assumed for any comments or statements made on, or in relation to, this website. Please see our updated privacy policy and legal information