displaying posts 1 to 25 of 27

Pages (2): [1] 2

Author Subject: Interior Fan
iplay

Seasoned Pro

Location: Number Wang

Registered: 18 May 2006

Posts: 3,268

Status: Offline

Post #1
The interior fan stopped working ... I have swapped in a tested working fan from another gti-6 and swapped over the green relay (also tested working) but still have no fan working Thumbs down

Any suggestions welcome ...

edit: my aircon is fully regassed but also does not work (no green light)
Posted 14th Jul 2013 at 21:29
aaron6

Seasoned Pro

Location: On the sofa in maidstone

Registered: 16 May 2006

Posts: 5,840

Status: Offline

Post #2
That still sounds like the relay. Is it definitely a good one? Have you definitely changed the correct relay? Check the fuses too.

________________________________________

See the sheer power and might of the lesser known burrowing owl.



Posted 10th Jun 2013 at 19:20
iplay

Seasoned Pro

Location: Number Wang

Registered: 18 May 2006

Posts: 3,268

Status: Offline

Post #3
aaron6 wrote:
That still sounds like the relay. Is it definitely a good one? Have you definitely changed the correct relay? Check the fuses too.


100% working fan and relay tested from other gti-6.
Could it be the heater controls not working?
How could I test this? easy to swap out and over?
Posted 10th Jun 2013 at 19:51
thugpuggin

Seasoned Pro

Location: Bristol

Registered: 10 Apr 2004

Posts: 26,784

Status: Offline

Post #4
Pain in the arse swapping the unit out. They do die and there its an faq on it. Easier to replace once you pluck up the courage to have a go. Try Dan for one cheap sure he has one. Think I've only got a Rallye one left.

________________________________________

Black X Reg PIII.VGTi 6 A4212 pt 1 A4212 pt 2 Searching the streets of Bristol for 1.36p/day.

Joint Kent Leader

Posted 10th Jun 2013 at 20:21
aaron6

Seasoned Pro

Location: On the sofa in maidstone

Registered: 16 May 2006

Posts: 5,840

Status: Offline

Post #5
I changed the unit too. Its a ball ache getting to the screws in the dash.
Have you checked the bit the relay locates in is actually okay and not burned out or damaged?

________________________________________

See the sheer power and might of the lesser known burrowing owl.



Posted 10th Jun 2013 at 20:37
iplay

Seasoned Pro

Location: Number Wang

Registered: 18 May 2006

Posts: 3,268

Status: Offline

Post #6
is there a FAQ showing how to get the control panel out? You make it sound like a heater matrix job ^
Posted 11th Jun 2013 at 22:32
thugpuggin

Seasoned Pro

Location: Bristol

Registered: 10 Apr 2004

Posts: 26,784

Status: Offline

Post #7
It's the PIA of unlatching the hooked cables that control the vents movement that make it a mofo of a job. It's straight forward enough it's just most of us have been removing when breaking so don't give a s**t about smashing the dash up. You also have to twist around to unclip the guides that are connected to the back of the unit.

________________________________________

Black X Reg PIII.VGTi 6 A4212 pt 1 A4212 pt 2 Searching the streets of Bristol for 1.36p/day.

Joint Kent Leader

Posted 11th Jun 2013 at 23:03
aaron6

Seasoned Pro

Location: On the sofa in maidstone

Registered: 16 May 2006

Posts: 5,840

Status: Offline

Post #8
Yeah, it aint difficult, just awkward. Make sure you you have someone with small hands. That helps.

________________________________________

See the sheer power and might of the lesser known burrowing owl.



Posted 12th Jun 2013 at 10:05
sixysix

Seasoned Pro

Location: London

Registered: 27 Mar 2006

Posts: 2,659

Status: Offline

Post #9
Not too bad to do matey, just need to take the centre fascia out to get the controls out.

Stereo out, pop off clock cover, 2 torx screws for clock, unclip any switch, disconnect wires.
4 screws hold the fascia on. Two at the bottom IIRC, and two inside where the stereo sits.

Don't think you have to remove the centre vents to remove the fascia which is a bonus LOL

Then 2 or 4 screws hold the heater controls in, the the fiddly part is removing the flap cables at the rear Smile

________________________________________

My Pugrun 2007/2009 video clips
Take a look

Pugrun 2007...Lose yourself Laugh

Xbox Live ID: Marksixysix (Forza 3, Forza 4 PES 2010, COD 6/MW2, WRC 2010).

PSN ID: MarkSixysix ( DiRT 3 GT5, NFS:Hot pursuit).

P1 Diablo red 6 gone but not forgotten Sad
Posted 12th Jun 2013 at 16:03
anth

Seasoned Pro

Location: Colchester

Registered: 04 Apr 2006

Posts: 3,651

Status: Offline

Post #10
Yeah its the stupid cable things at the back which will ruin your day...
Posted 12th Jun 2013 at 19:40
phillipm

Seasoned Pro

Location: Rotherham

Registered: 15 Oct 2006

Posts: 20,607

Status: Offline

Post #11
Checked the resistor pack?

________________________________________

- Bespoke rollcages/additions/adjustments. Half cages right up to complete custom spaceframes - MSA/FIA spec, CDS, ROPT, T45, etc - PM me
Email me!
Custom-made polybushes available - need an odd size or fitment? - anything from batch work to one-off pieces.
Posted 12th Jun 2013 at 19:54
pooouk

Regular

Location: Belper, Nr Derby

Registered: 22 Jun 2009

Posts: 259

Status: Offline

Post #12
It's only the front part of the control panel that needs changing, you don't need to touch the cables at all. IIRC there are four plastic arrow shaped tangs that stick through the front of the panel which you push apart and the front pops off. I did mine in less than an hour including taking the console apart.

Just remember to set all the dials to the same position on the old and the new panel.

Nick

________________________________________

AKA nick on 205gtidrivers.com
Posted 12th Jun 2013 at 20:07
iplay

Seasoned Pro

Location: Number Wang

Registered: 18 May 2006

Posts: 3,268

Status: Offline

Post #13
Many thanks for all the good advice ... Thumbs up

phillipm wrote:
Checked the resistor pack?


I don't think so Dunno
where is it? Whistle
Posted 15th Jun 2013 at 11:01
welshpug!

Capt Pedantic

Location: Bigend, Wales.

Registered: 27 Mar 2007

Posts: 25,822

Status: Offline

Post #14
is this a 6 or a rallye?

________________________________________

need a part number? get on here - http://public.servicebox.peugeot.com

Bring on the Trumpets.

Posted 15th Jun 2013 at 11:08
iplay

Seasoned Pro

Location: Number Wang

Registered: 18 May 2006

Posts: 3,268

Status: Offline

Post #15
welshpug! wrote:
is this a 6 or a rallye?


a 6
Posted 15th Jun 2013 at 16:50
iplay

Seasoned Pro

Location: Number Wang

Registered: 18 May 2006

Posts: 3,268

Status: Offline

Post #16
Does the interior fan need to work for a car to pass MOT?
Posted 17th Jun 2013 at 11:39
welshpug!

Capt Pedantic

Location: Bigend, Wales.

Registered: 27 Mar 2007

Posts: 25,822

Status: Offline

Post #17
No.

________________________________________

need a part number? get on here - http://public.servicebox.peugeot.com

Bring on the Trumpets.

Posted 17th Jun 2013 at 13:05
iplay

Seasoned Pro

Location: Number Wang

Registered: 18 May 2006

Posts: 3,268

Status: Offline

Post #18
+1 to everyone who helped Clapping
-1 to everyone who said it was easy Whistle

I need to get engine cooling back online Big grin
Posted 11th Jul 2013 at 14:59
iplay

Seasoned Pro

Location: Number Wang

Registered: 18 May 2006

Posts: 3,268

Status: Offline

Post #19
Ok finally got the radio out ... and put the replacement control unit in ... Nothing!
The replacement heater control does not even light up with dash lights - dead as a Dodo I suspect.
Think I will raid the other 6 to get a known working unit and go from there ... another radio and dash to remove ... arghhh!

I noticed that the original heater control panel lights work ... does this mean the original control panel is still alive?
If the black protection override capacitor on the A/C heater controls was blown would the internal heater control lights come on? ?

FAQ ... http://www.306gti6.com/forum/showthread.php?id=54386&page=1

I am suspecting this is not the issue ...

the heater blower is working, fuses checked and control panel seems to be working ... and the aircon is regassed by pug. Any other suggestions welcome ...
Posted 14th Jul 2013 at 17:32
buzzbrightyear

Seasoned Pro

Location: hiding all receipts for car

Registered: 09 Jul 2008

Posts: 11,895

Status: Offline

Post #20
I belive the lights on the control panel run of the sidelights circuit.

________________________________________

andrew315rawson@live.co.uk
Moonstone phase 7 gti6
My Project thread: http://www.306gti6.com/forum/showthread.php?id=119992&page=1
Posted 14th Jul 2013 at 17:37
iplay

Seasoned Pro

Location: Number Wang

Registered: 18 May 2006

Posts: 3,268

Status: Offline

Post #21
buzzbrightyear wrote:
I belive the lights on the control panel run of the sidelights circuit.

Thanks, this led me back to the fuse box which was ok and then ...
Huston we might have found the problem ... looking in the mirror Whistle
Posted 14th Jul 2013 at 19:07
iplay

Seasoned Pro

Location: Number Wang

Registered: 18 May 2006

Posts: 3,268

Status: Offline

Post #22
phillipm wrote:
Checked the resistor pack?


It might be an good moment to ask ... is the resistor pack a green cube above the fuse box?
One of the green cubes has plasitc welded itself to the rest of the fuse box Dunno
sure I checked these before and they were ok Shock
Posted 14th Jul 2013 at 19:04
Niall

Seasoned Pro

Location: Epsom

Registered: 06 Jun 2012

Posts: 1,941

Status: Offline

Post #23
There is no resistor pack on the "climate control" Ac models. Its all done by the control panel. That gree cube above the fuse box is the relay. Sounds like its melted its self in and probably shorted inside.
Posted 15th Jul 2013 at 15:19
stan_306gti6 Forum Admin

Location: Kent

Registered: 18 Jan 2004

Posts: 21,768

Status: Offline

Post #24
Niall wrote:
There is no resistor pack on the "climate control" Ac models. Its all done by the control panel. That gree cube above the fuse box is the relay. Sounds like its melted its self in and probably shorted inside.


This, you need a new relay. Yes

________________________________________

"Supercharged - 454.1bhp/317.5lb/ft"
Peugeot 306 GTi-6
2000 (X), Moonstone Love
Posted 17th Jul 2013 at 10:05
iplay

Seasoned Pro

Location: Number Wang

Registered: 18 May 2006

Posts: 3,268

Status: Offline

Post #25
I did check the relay at the beginning of the job and all 'seemed' fine! New relay fitted and working ... but only intermittently. The aircon light is now on and working but the fan blower randomly blows on and off. I think a wire might be loose or broken or an earth not working well? I will get it on the diagnostics on Monday but any ideas welcome.
Posted 21st Jul 2013 at 13:34

Pages (2): [1] 2

All times are GMT. The time is now 06:32

The Peugeot GTi-6 & Rallye Owners Club - ©2024 all rights reserved.

Please Note: The views and opinions found herein are those of individuals, and not of The Peugeot 306 GTi-6 & Rallye Owners Club or any individuals involved.
No responsibility is taken or assumed for any comments or statements made on, or in relation to, this website. Please see our updated privacy policy.