displaying posts 1 to 12 of 12

Author Subject: HU doesn't turn off w/ ignition
24seven

Seasoned Pro

Location: Derby

Registered: 05 Oct 2005

Posts: 6,221

Status: Offline

Post #1
Hey folks. Picked up a 2nd hand Sony MEX-BT3600U and fitted it a couple of weeks ago, only to find the next day my battery was completely flat. I guessed it was the usual story of the red & yellow switched/permanent wires being the wrong way round so I swapped them over last night and still the head unit stays on with the ignition off. Is this just a phase 1 thing where it doesn't actually turn the HU off when the ignition is off, or is the head unit funked?

________________________________________

Ph1 306 GTi 6 | RX8 231 S1 | YBR 125 Cafe Racer | MT-03 660
Posted 15th Dec 2012 at 19:13
welshpug!

Capt Pedantic

Location: Bigend, Wales.

Registered: 27 Mar 2007

Posts: 25,817

Status: Offline

Post #2
might need to move a fuse in the fusebox iirc.

________________________________________

need a part number? get on here - http://public.servicebox.peugeot.com

Bring on the Trumpets.

Posted 15th Dec 2012 at 19:17
birk

Seasoned Pro

Location: Doncaster

Registered: 24 Oct 2005

Posts: 7,032

Status: Offline

Post #3
My hdi does this aswell, keen to know the fix.

________________________________________

Dimma + Gt35 turbo = Ninja
Solid rear beam mounts £130
07889376885
Dan
Posted 15th Dec 2012 at 19:26
smegal

Seasoned Pro

Location: Leeds

Registered: 26 Dec 2005

Posts: 5,940

Status: Offline

Post #4
See the fusebox FAX for the different fuse positions.

________________________________________

Ex SC-6

Now in a Megane R26
Posted 15th Dec 2012 at 23:02
bigbadbowen

Seasoned Pro

Location: Winchester

Registered: 21 Nov 2003

Posts: 13,752

Status: Offline

Post #5
Yup fuse is in the wrong position Yes not sure which fuse it is off the top of my head but it can be moved back to its original position to sort this - proper pain in the arse if you forget to turn off the stereo and flatten the battery Yes

Posted 15th Dec 2012 at 23:08
24seven

Seasoned Pro

Location: Derby

Registered: 05 Oct 2005

Posts: 6,221

Status: Offline

Post #6
Cheers folks. will go over the fusebox tomorrow. Smile

________________________________________

Ph1 306 GTi 6 | RX8 231 S1 | YBR 125 Cafe Racer | MT-03 660
Posted 16th Dec 2012 at 01:51
24seven

Seasoned Pro

Location: Derby

Registered: 05 Oct 2005

Posts: 6,221

Status: Offline

Post #7
There isn't an FAQ specific to the phase 1 fuse board, so I clicked the link in the P2 FAQ and cross-referenced my VIN number, which I think tells me that my car has the same fuse board as a P2... But anyway, here's how it's all set at the moment. Am I right in thinking that the fuse in position F1-A should be moved up to position F1?

________________________________________

Ph1 306 GTi 6 | RX8 231 S1 | YBR 125 Cafe Racer | MT-03 660
Posted 16th Dec 2012 at 17:11
bigbadbowen

Seasoned Pro

Location: Winchester

Registered: 21 Nov 2003

Posts: 13,752

Status: Offline

Post #8
Yup Thumbs up
Posted 16th Dec 2012 at 17:23
24seven

Seasoned Pro

Location: Derby

Registered: 05 Oct 2005

Posts: 6,221

Status: Offline

Post #9
Happy days!

________________________________________

Ph1 306 GTi 6 | RX8 231 S1 | YBR 125 Cafe Racer | MT-03 660
Posted 16th Dec 2012 at 17:24
24seven

Seasoned Pro

Location: Derby

Registered: 05 Oct 2005

Posts: 6,221

Status: Offline

Post #10
Also to the mods, feel free to use the picture above to replace the dead image link in the Phase 2 FAQ.

________________________________________

Ph1 306 GTi 6 | RX8 231 S1 | YBR 125 Cafe Racer | MT-03 660
Posted 16th Dec 2012 at 17:30
birk

Seasoned Pro

Location: Doncaster

Registered: 24 Oct 2005

Posts: 7,032

Status: Offline

Post #11
I will have to look at this, never knew it was that easy.

Although my hdi is a ph3 lol

________________________________________

Dimma + Gt35 turbo = Ninja
Solid rear beam mounts £130
07889376885
Dan
Posted 16th Dec 2012 at 17:56
24seven

Seasoned Pro

Location: Derby

Registered: 05 Oct 2005

Posts: 6,221

Status: Offline

Post #12
Looking at the P3 FAQ it doesn't appear it will be that easy for you, unless it has a P2 fuse board or something completely different again. I'm guessing you've checked the yellow/red wires already?

________________________________________

Ph1 306 GTi 6 | RX8 231 S1 | YBR 125 Cafe Racer | MT-03 660
Posted 16th Dec 2012 at 18:21

All times are GMT. The time is now 16:33

The Peugeot GTi-6 & Rallye Owners Club - ©2024 all rights reserved.

Please Note: The views and opinions found herein are those of individuals, and not of The Peugeot 306 GTi-6 & Rallye Owners Club or any individuals involved.
No responsibility is taken or assumed for any comments or statements made on, or in relation to, this website. Please see our updated privacy policy.