displaying posts 1 to 20 of 20

Author Subject: Locked out of Radio - fixed
iplay

Seasoned Pro

Location: Number Wang

Registered: 18 May 2006

Posts: 3,268

Status: Offline

Post #1
I reset the ECU today and put in teh wrong radio code by mistake. Usually I get a 2nd chance to put a code in but this time I am locked out? I know the code for the radio but it is not allowing any code input atm. Its a peugeot model with a tape player.
Posted 27th Jun 2012 at 17:49
darzmat

Senior User

Location: nairn

Registered: 14 Jan 2011

Posts: 879

Status: Offline

Post #2
you may have to leave it a while,

i know with ford radios when you get locked out you cant re enter for half an hour

________________________________________


1997 blaze GTI-6 bought january '11 £800

Spend to date on parts £827.88

Posted 27th Jun 2012 at 17:53
ian7675

Techno Viking

Location: Gloucestershire

Registered: 12 Oct 2007

Posts: 6,068

Status: Offline

Post #3
I once had an Alfa where you had to leave the stereo swithched on with the ignition on for 60 minutes LOL At the time I only did short journeys so it was weeks before I got a chance to sort it.

________________________________________

Less than 24 hours to go!
Posted 27th Jun 2012 at 18:47
davidmartin

Seasoned Pro

Location: Beautifull Ystalyfera

Registered: 21 Oct 2006

Posts: 3,315

Status: Offline

Post #4
IIRC you need to hold in the wave button when turning it on,don't quote me on that though ,It's been a long time. but worth a try.

________________________________________

pet hate, the cat
Posted 27th Jun 2012 at 20:38
iplay

Seasoned Pro

Location: Number Wang

Registered: 18 May 2006

Posts: 3,268

Status: Offline

Post #5
davidmartin wrote:
IIRC you need to hold in the wave button when turning it on,don't quote me on that though ,It's been a long time. but worth a try.


Many thanks. This bypassed the code altogether ... maybe FAQ this fix?
Posted 28th Jun 2012 at 11:18
rikky 🦔

Location: cheshire

Registered: 28 Feb 2004

Posts: 26,794

Status: Offline

Post #6
that's only a temporary fix though i think..

________________________________________

306 rallye reproduction decals (full sets/individual decals) | 306 b-pillar textured vinyl weatherstrips
306 slam panel esso stickers | 306 yellow / orange / pension fund red side door badges
gti6 inlet manifold badges | 306 rear boot badges (p2/p3)
winner of Extraction of toys from prams with outstanding vigour award 2009 [source: gti6 owners club]
Posted 28th Jun 2012 at 12:17
iplay

Seasoned Pro

Location: Number Wang

Registered: 18 May 2006

Posts: 3,268

Status: Offline

Post #7
rikky wrote:
that's only a temporary fix though i think..


yes correct. It has to be done every time the radio gets turned on.
is there a way to flash tem to reset without going to pug?

would a peugeot diagnostic machine be able to unlock it ? or is it radio out job?
Posted 28th Jun 2012 at 15:38
welshpug!

Capt Pedantic

Location: Bigend, Wales.

Registered: 27 Mar 2007

Posts: 25,819

Status: Offline

Post #8
enter the code next time?


there is no diagnostic connection to the radio, its a 306 LOL:

________________________________________

need a part number? get on here - http://public.servicebox.peugeot.com

Bring on the Trumpets.

Posted 28th Jun 2012 at 15:59
iplay

Seasoned Pro

Location: Number Wang

Registered: 18 May 2006

Posts: 3,268

Status: Offline

Post #9
welshpug! wrote:
enter the code next time?


there is no diagnostic connection to the radio, its a 306 LOL:


so far it is noit allowing me to enter the code? do i have to drive the car a bit or after a certain time it allows another go?
Posted 28th Jun 2012 at 16:38
mik

Seasoned Pro

Location: Kent

Registered: 17 Feb 2011

Posts: 2,100

Status: Offline

Post #10
I went through this as the PO didn't have the code for mine. Pug offered to give me the code for £20. I said could you waive the charge and give me the code for nothing as I'm a really top bloke and everyone I know thinks so. Pug said nope, you will still need to pay £20. I said thanks but no thanks - I'd rather put that towards a more modern head unit.

________________________________________

Cherry Rallye SOLD

Posted 28th Jun 2012 at 17:22
bigbadbowen

Seasoned Pro

Location: Winchester

Registered: 21 Nov 2003

Posts: 13,753

Status: Offline

Post #11
Leave the ignition switched on for half an hour or then the radio will reset Yes
Posted 28th Jun 2012 at 17:52
iplay

Seasoned Pro

Location: Number Wang

Registered: 18 May 2006

Posts: 3,268

Status: Offline

Post #12
ian7675 wrote:
I once had an Alfa where you had to leave the stereo swithched on with the ignition on for 60 minutes LOL At the time I only did short journeys so it was weeks before I got a chance to sort it.


bigbadbowen wrote:
Leave the ignition switched on for half an hour or then the radio will reset Yes


Once again many thanks to everyone who helped out. But we have a winner here ... leaving the key in ignition on first turn switch for an hour clears the lockout. Thumbs up

and I was looking forward to sweet talking the new girl in servicing Love :whislte ... £20! Thumbs up
Posted 28th Jun 2012 at 18:00
bigbadbowen

Seasoned Pro

Location: Winchester

Registered: 21 Nov 2003

Posts: 13,753

Status: Offline

Post #13
I meant to put or leave it for an hour Yes
Posted 28th Jun 2012 at 18:22
thugpuggin

Seasoned Pro

Location: Bristol

Registered: 10 Apr 2004

Posts: 26,784

Status: Offline

Post #14
Looks like it's had numerous entries wrong previously.

________________________________________

Black X Reg PIII.VGTi 6 A4212 pt 1 A4212 pt 2 Searching the streets of Bristol for 1.36p/day.

Joint Kent Leader

Posted 28th Jun 2012 at 21:10
iplay

Seasoned Pro

Location: Number Wang

Registered: 18 May 2006

Posts: 3,268

Status: Offline

Post #15
I thought I had fixed this but apparently not ...

the radio works without ignition so i think i need to change the fuse over first and then do the above fix. Does anyone know the correct position for radio off without ignition?
Posted 29th Jun 2012 at 13:28
smegal

Seasoned Pro

Location: Leeds

Registered: 26 Dec 2005

Posts: 5,940

Status: Offline

Post #16
It's in the fusebox FAQ. I can't remember off hand.

________________________________________

Ex SC-6

Now in a Megane R26
Posted 29th Jun 2012 at 13:33
bigbadbowen

Seasoned Pro

Location: Winchester

Registered: 21 Nov 2003

Posts: 13,753

Status: Offline

Post #17
iplay wrote:
I thought I had fixed this but apparently not ...

the radio works without ignition so i think i need to change the fuse over first and then do the above fix. Does anyone know the correct position for radio off without ignition?


If the radio works with ignition off the fuse needs to be moved up I believe ?

If your using a phase 3 cd unit in a phase 2 car the wires will need switching over so you have power to the memory.

Ie the ignition and permenant live will be the wrong way round Yes
Posted 29th Jun 2012 at 16:42
welshpug!

Capt Pedantic

Location: Bigend, Wales.

Registered: 27 Mar 2007

Posts: 25,819

Status: Offline

Post #18
ahhh so that's why a phase3 unit didn't work properly in my 205 when I first fitted it!! thought it was the adapter that was at fault, bas**rds LOL

________________________________________

need a part number? get on here - http://public.servicebox.peugeot.com

Bring on the Trumpets.

Posted 29th Jun 2012 at 16:44
thugpuggin

Seasoned Pro

Location: Bristol

Registered: 10 Apr 2004

Posts: 26,784

Status: Offline

Post #19
smegal wrote:
It's in the fusebox FAQ. I can't remember off hand.


24 Grail

________________________________________

Black X Reg PIII.VGTi 6 A4212 pt 1 A4212 pt 2 Searching the streets of Bristol for 1.36p/day.

Joint Kent Leader

Posted 30th Jun 2012 at 00:15
iplay

Seasoned Pro

Location: Number Wang

Registered: 18 May 2006

Posts: 3,268

Status: Offline

Post #20
I had to press the wavey button for 2 seconds to clear fault codes after leaving it an hour.
its really fixed now Thumbs up
+1's all round thanks
Posted 30th Jun 2012 at 09:41

All times are GMT. The time is now 16:20

The Peugeot GTi-6 & Rallye Owners Club - ©2024 all rights reserved.

Please Note: The views and opinions found herein are those of individuals, and not of The Peugeot 306 GTi-6 & Rallye Owners Club or any individuals involved.
No responsibility is taken or assumed for any comments or statements made on, or in relation to, this website. Please see our updated privacy policy.