displaying posts 1 to 13 of 13

Author Subject: Key Battery Replacement FAQ
gnrlee Forum Owner

Location: Leeds

Registered: 20 Aug 2005

Posts: 8,833

Status: Offline

Post #1
Please don't post on this thread!

ok nice easy one
if you are ph3 owner and the batery in the key seems to be dying try this 1st and don't let peugeot tell you it needs reprograming in because it doesn't!
Note i'm unfamiler with ph1-ph2 models so not sure if this applys!

1st buy one of these baterys
CR1620 2.30 from GSF inc VAT

gnrlee has attached the following image:

________________________________________

Proud Member of the ASTOR Owners Club
Posted 26th Apr 2007 at 19:27
gnrlee Forum Owner

Location: Leeds

Registered: 20 Aug 2005

Posts: 8,833

Status: Offline

Post #2
next

Remove any keyrings and the small Philips Screw from the back like so!

gnrlee has attached the following image:

________________________________________

Proud Member of the ASTOR Owners Club
Posted 15th Nov 2006 at 21:38
gnrlee Forum Owner

Location: Leeds

Registered: 20 Aug 2005

Posts: 8,833

Status: Offline

Post #3
now to prise appart
i found using the top the best bit!

gnrlee has attached the following image:

________________________________________

Proud Member of the ASTOR Owners Club
Posted 15th Nov 2006 at 21:40
gnrlee Forum Owner

Location: Leeds

Registered: 20 Aug 2005

Posts: 8,833

Status: Offline

Post #4
which should come appart like so..

gnrlee has attached the following image:

________________________________________

Proud Member of the ASTOR Owners Club
Posted 15th Nov 2006 at 21:46
jim01uk

Seasoned Pro

Location: around

Registered: 16 Dec 2005

Posts: 8,996

Status: Offline

Post #5
Yes it applies to P models, but anyone who cant figure out how to change the battery in a keyfob needs putting down!
Posted 15th Nov 2006 at 21:53
gnrlee Forum Owner

Location: Leeds

Registered: 20 Aug 2005

Posts: 8,833

Status: Offline

Post #6
Then just put it back together and test it!
Job Done! Happy

FAQ Please Smile

gnrlee has attached the following image:

________________________________________

Proud Member of the ASTOR Owners Club
Posted 15th Nov 2006 at 21:55
gazzerdaman

Seasoned Pro

Location: Chelmsford

Registered: 25 Sep 2003

Posts: 10,283

Status: Offline

Post #7
Warning, do not lose the piece highlighted in this photo - it is the transponder chip for the immobiliser.

Your car will not start with out it !

Also IIRC there is a notch in the keyfob to allow a screwdriver to be used to prise it apart

Good work mate Thumbs up

gazzerdaman has attached the following image:

________________________________________

Gary

Cherry Red GTi 6
Posted 15th Nov 2006 at 22:14
MS

formerly manny

Location: Somewhere

Registered: 04 Apr 2006

Posts: 8,445

Status: Offline

Post #8
How many of these CR1620 batteries are required for a P2 remote. Need to give the spare remote to my sis but it's got no batteries in it. I've got one battery here and it's not enough. So i'm not sure if i need new batteries (it looks like i'll need 3 Shock) or whether i need a different size of battery.

The last thing i want to do is put 3 in and blow the thing up by giving it 9 volts!

I could take apart the other remote but i'd rather not.
Posted 30th Mar 2007 at 04:54
Rich E Forum Admin

Location: Hertfordshire

Registered: 27 Apr 2005

Posts: 7,757

Status: Offline

Post #9
It should say in the handbook what battery you need. My phase 3 handbook actually says to use a CR2016, not CR1620 as stated above.

The CR sizes are the diameter and depth of the cell, so you could actually measure what size you need.

CR1620 = 16mm x 2.0mm
CR2016 = 20mm x 1.6mm

and so on...

________________________________________

Rich
Posted 30th Mar 2007 at 05:23
MS

formerly manny

Location: Somewhere

Registered: 04 Apr 2006

Posts: 8,445

Status: Offline

Post #10
Cheers Rich. Useful bit of info that. Thumbs up

Think best thing for me would be to just take apart my working remote and see what batteries are in that.

As some of the guys told me at the midlands meet, the P2s use a different alarm system to the P3s yeh?
Posted 30th Mar 2007 at 05:22
Rich E Forum Admin

Location: Hertfordshire

Registered: 27 Apr 2005

Posts: 7,757

Status: Offline

Post #11
quote:
Think best thing for me would be to just take apart my working remote and see what batteries are in that.

Yes That's the best option.

quote:
As some of the guys told me at the midlands meet, the P2s use a different alarm system to the P3s yeh?

The systems are essentially the same, just re-designed, and the fobs were switched from IR to RF.

________________________________________

Rich
Posted 30th Mar 2007 at 05:28
MS

formerly manny

Location: Somewhere

Registered: 04 Apr 2006

Posts: 8,445

Status: Offline

Post #12
quote:
The systems are essentially the same, just re-designed, and the fobs were switched from IR to RF.

Is that so??? Huh? Interesting. You telling me i could use an RF fob with mine if it was programmed?

I hate the crappy range of my IR one.
Posted 30th Mar 2007 at 05:31
Rich E Forum Admin

Location: Hertfordshire

Registered: 27 Apr 2005

Posts: 7,757

Status: Offline

Post #13
No Sadly not, no. I meant that feature wise they are essentially the same.

The alarm and immobiliser are seperate units on the phase 2 but combined into a single unit on the phase 3, which has the RF receiver built into it.

________________________________________

Rich
Posted 30th Mar 2007 at 05:44

This thread has been locked

Greenlight Insurance
All times are GMT. The time is now 18:58

The Peugeot GTi-6 & Rallye Owners Club Ltd - Registered in England & Wales - Reg No: 07410694 - ©2021 all rights reserved.

Please Note : The views and opinions found herein are those of individuals, and not of The Peugeot 306 GTi-6 & Rallye Owners Club Ltd or any individuals involved.
No responsibility is taken or assumed for any comments or statements made on, or in relation to, this website. Please see our updated privacy policy and legal information