displaying posts 1 to 8 of 8

Author Subject: Common central locking problems FAQ
centuri

Post #1
Hi.

My central locking like many pug owners went faulty last friday. When you locked the door by key or remote fob the doors locked for a second and then unlocked themselves. A common fault it seems and having read the many possible solutions to resolving the problem on the forums. So today while it wasnt raining I decided to set about rectifing my problem and documenting it. Big grin

So here goes, ive broken it into 3 parts. I know some of its basic, but i wanted to show people how easy it really is to check out, but please note I am no expert. What you attempt to do on your own car is your responsibility and not mine, Smile

Anyhow... on with the show.

1. Bypassing The Problem.
2. Repairing the door loom.
3. Other Solutions.

1. Bypassing the problem.

The best bypass solution to stop your central locking from auto-unlocking but still allowing you to lock your car using your keyfob is to tell the Central Locking control unit that the doors when locked are always locked correctly.
To enable this to happen you need to complete the following modification to your Central Locking Control unit.

a. To locate the Central Locking Control Unit you need to remove the rear seat from behind the driver.

b. With the seat tilted forward, lift the hinges so they separate easily, a simple up lift will dislodge them.

c. At this point you may see the bottom of the Central Locking control unit. Depending on the level of solution you wish to take you may work on it from there. Myself I decided to remove the unit as follows.

d. To remove the unit fully, you need to release the top half of the rear seat. Do this as you normally would by pressing the release button at the top of the seat. From inside the boot push the seat forward.