displaying posts 1 to 3 of 3

Author Subject: Steering rack replacement or refurb options - down under!
Jellomanpie

Post #1
Hi forum

Thought I better start with an intro......I’m not a mechanic at all. So It’s all new to me!

Whilst in Covid-19 lockdown my son and I decided to take on a project car........it’s a nice way to while away time in Sydney.
His brother had an old 1997 Peugeot 306 N5 2.0 16v XSi (XU10J4R) which he picked up from a mate.
He’d had enough of it and left it for his brother. So now it’s me and the youngest getting this ready for the road!

What have we done? ( I don’t mean, bugger, what have we done? I mean, progress so far !)

Not being mechanics it’s all been Haynes, internet and you tube. With visits to a local wrecker in Sydney (lots of times), some local aftermarket bits and stuff shipped from Europe (Estonians are pretty quick at delivery even during covid!)

Anyway, fixed so far:
- all 4 brake disc’s renewed
- all pads renewed
- all 4 calipers refurbished completely (thanks Bigred for pistons and seals)
- new drivers door wiring loom (from breakers yard)
- new hinge loom ( as above)
- oil, fuel and air filter
- changed oil, steering fluid and brake fluid
- new wipers!

Have just received serpentine and timing belt, plus water pump, power steering pump, crank pulls and other timing belt pulleys etc.........ready to change timing belt (fingers x there......never done it before, or most of the above!)

So that’s about it to date. Only new drama we’ve got is a bit of roughness in steering and a faint banging sound every now and then from somewhere on suspension is guess. Will post on a forum as I progress.

Biggest query though is that I looked at steering rack today and noticed a worn gator on drivers side steering rack rod. It’s full of grit and not much grease (s**te steering doh!) in the steering rack. Probably not something I can refurb, though the rest looks ok......including links, ram and rods etc.