displaying posts 1 to 9 of 9

Author Subject: Ecu
Laytj

Newbie

Location: Swansea

Registered: 25 Sep 2019

Posts: 47

Status: Offline

Post #1
Hi does anyone know if the phase1 ECU is different to phase 2&3 due to the keypad immobilizer? Thanks

________________________________________

L james
Posted 19th Nov 2019 at 19:03
rudolf

Seasoned Pro

Location: Skelmersdale

Registered: 07 Apr 2004

Posts: 2,645

Status: Offline

Post #2
Yes, same part number, 1938 05

________________________________________

S Reg Diablo standardsSpec SORNED
R Reg Nile standard spec written off then repaired
X Reg Astor in need of TLC
R Reg Nile to restore
Set of Lions to fit.
Posted 19th Nov 2019 at 19:34
pug_306

Seasoned Pro

Location: Great Hockham

Registered: 28 May 2013

Posts: 1,620

Status: Offline

Post #3
Slightly higher rev limit.

________________________________________

1998 Supercharged White Rallye
1992 205 GTi6
205 Turbo 340bhp
Posted 19th Nov 2019 at 20:05
Laytj

Newbie

Location: Swansea

Registered: 25 Sep 2019

Posts: 47

Status: Offline

Post #4
So the keypad immobilizer is just in place of the later chip in the ignition key is it? Is there any way of reconnecting the keypad immobilizer when I don't know the code? Thanks

________________________________________

L james
Posted 19th Nov 2019 at 23:26
Joep

Regular

Location: Urmond (The Netherlands)

Registered: 19 Sep 2013

Posts: 278

Status: Offline

Post #5
Best is to have the ECU permanently unlocked by someone.

________________________________________

My car park:
'96 Sigma Blue XSi6
'98 Diablo Red GTi6
'99 Onyx Black S16

All RFS powered!

Plus various other Peugeots
Posted 20th Nov 2019 at 06:10
miki4

Regular

Location: Cologne

Registered: 09 Nov 2015

Posts: 379

Status: Offline

Post #6
An ECU which was unlocked via 'swap' or frequency sweep method and does not have the immo communication pins cut can be reprogrammed by Peugeot Planet / PP2000 so you have a functioning immo again. Did this on my Ph3 with transponder chips but I guess the procedure should be similar with a Ph1 car and a keypad if the ECU is the same.
Posted 20th Nov 2019 at 09:36
Laytj

Newbie

Location: Swansea

Registered: 25 Sep 2019

Posts: 47

Status: Offline

Post #7
OK thanks everyone for the replies
Cheers

________________________________________

L james
Posted 21st Nov 2019 at 05:11
rudolf

Seasoned Pro

Location: Skelmersdale

Registered: 07 Apr 2004

Posts: 2,645

Status: Offline

Post #8
pug_306 wrote:
Slightly higher rev limit.


So why same part number?

________________________________________

S Reg Diablo standardsSpec SORNED
R Reg Nile standard spec written off then repaired
X Reg Astor in need of TLC
R Reg Nile to restore
Set of Lions to fit.
Posted 21st Nov 2019 at 21:16
miki4

Regular

Location: Cologne

Registered: 09 Nov 2015

Posts: 379

Status: Offline

Post #9
It's only another software version, the hardware is the same. I can imagine, they updated the software concurrently with the change from Ph1 to Ph2. Possibly there are several Ph1s which already had the newer software or Ph2s which had the older software with the higher rev limit, but that's an assumption.

Moreover the EEPROM can be updated to a newer version by someone manually flashing it or directly by Peugeot during a maintenance (don't know if they actually did this but should be possible via PP2000 with a genuine registration).

The software version the ECU originally came with is printed on the sticker among the model number.
Posted 21st Nov 2019 at 23:11

We Wiser Insurance Scheme
All times are GMT. The time is now 16:46

The Peugeot GTi-6 & Rallye Owners Club Ltd - Registered in England & Wales - Reg No: 07410694 - ©2020 all rights reserved.

Please Note : The views and opinions found herein are those of individuals, and not of The Peugeot 306 GTi-6 & Rallye Owners Club Ltd or any individuals involved.
No responsibility is taken or assumed for any comments or statements made on, or in relation to, this website. Please see our updated privacy policy and legal information