displaying posts 1 to 12 of 12

Author Subject: Radio
inzomatic

Regular

Location: alloa

Registered: 10 Jan 2013

Posts: 153

Status: Offline

Post #1
Put the original CD player back in the pug recently put code in but it asks for it every time I switch it on any help would be great I know there's a fuse can be moved but can't remember where
Posted 27th Sep 2017 at 20:39
miki4

Regular

Location: Cologne

Registered: 09 Nov 2015

Posts: 291

Status: Offline

Post #2
Could be that ignition+ and battery+ were switched before so the original radio cannot store its settings.
Posted 28th Sep 2017 at 08:36
inzomatic

Regular

Location: alloa

Registered: 10 Jan 2013

Posts: 153

Status: Offline

Post #3
Right I changed the battery over a while ago when I had a different head unit in it is there no way of storing the settings and getting the radio to come on with ignition
Posted 28th Sep 2017 at 09:35
welshpug!

Capt Pedantic

Location: Bigend, Wales.

Registered: 27 Mar 2007

Posts: 25,539

Status: Offline

Post #4
wont be a fuse if its actually working, there's a missing permanent live, check the wiring, may even be a fuse on the back of the unit.

________________________________________

need a part number? get on here - http://public.servicebox.peugeot.com

Bring on the Trumpets.

Posted 28th Sep 2017 at 10:31
inzomatic

Regular

Location: alloa

Registered: 10 Jan 2013

Posts: 153

Status: Offline

Post #5
Ok will check that ,is there not positions in fuse box that determine if head unit comes on with ignition ?
Posted 28th Sep 2017 at 10:37
inzomatic

Regular

Location: alloa

Registered: 10 Jan 2013

Posts: 153

Status: Offline

Post #6
I have to switch the radio on after I've turned ignition
Posted 28th Sep 2017 at 10:39
Ben_W

Formerly gpm

Location: South Leicestershire

Registered: 01 Sep 2007

Posts: 2,655

Status: Offline

Post #7
You need to swap the ignition and permanent lives over.

They are wired the wrong way round.

________________________________________

Cherry Red Rallye ....On going OEM spec resto



Posted 28th Sep 2017 at 15:59
inzomatic

Regular

Location: alloa

Registered: 10 Jan 2013

Posts: 153

Status: Offline

Post #8
What do you mean ?
Posted 28th Sep 2017 at 23:49
Ben_W

Formerly gpm

Location: South Leicestershire

Registered: 01 Sep 2007

Posts: 2,655

Status: Offline

Post #9
You will have two live connections going into the stereo from the wiring loom. One is from the car battery, known as the permanent live. This helps your headunit store security codes, station presets, settings etc. it also allows you to turn the radio on when the ignition is off.

The other is an ignition live. Comes on with the ignition, hence why your radio turns on with ignition on.

These two.are the wrong way round (a very common issue..) Swap the wires around. Should fix everything.

________________________________________

Cherry Red Rallye ....On going OEM spec resto



Posted 29th Sep 2017 at 00:44
inzomatic

Regular

Location: alloa

Registered: 10 Jan 2013

Posts: 153

Status: Offline

Post #10
When I first got the car the original radio was in it and it came on fine so surely if the wires wer the wrong way that would be happening when I first got it also it's two connector blocks that go into the back of the radio so how can they get mixed up?
Posted 30th Sep 2017 at 09:39
miki4

Regular

Location: Cologne

Registered: 09 Nov 2015

Posts: 291

Status: Offline

Post #11
You can cut and resolder the wires or swap the pins in the connector if you're wily. But if that did not happen already sometime before and the original radio worked correctly there must be another reason. First check if there is permanent live (12V) on the yellow cable's pin in the connector and switched live on the red cable (12 V if ignition on and 0 V if ignition off).
Posted 30th Sep 2017 at 16:02
mik

Seasoned Pro

Location: Kent

Registered: 17 Feb 2011

Posts: 2,087

Status: Offline

Post #12
I've just installed a remote stalk adapter loom so I can operate my Balupunkt radio with the OEM remote stalk, and after installation of the loom this has happened to me also. Unlike before I can't switch radio on when the car is off and I also need to switch the radio on every time I start the car. I'll need to remove the loom and swap these wires around as stated.

________________________________________

Cherry Rallye

Posted 1st Oct 2017 at 12:55

You are not able to post as you are not a member.
If you would like to upgrade your membership, please read the Membership section.

1999 Peugeot 306 GTi Super High Boost

  • 2000cc
  • Blue
  • 130,000 miles

£6,000

Location: South Wales

All times are GMT. The time is now 14:46

The Peugeot GTi-6 & Rallye Owners Club Ltd - Registered in England & Wales - Reg No: 07410694 - ©2018 all rights reserved.

Please Note : The views and opinions found herein are those of individuals, and not of The Peugeot 306 GTi-6 & Rallye Owners Club Ltd or any individuals involved.
No responsibility is taken or assumed for any comments or statements made on, or in relation to, this website. Please see our updated privacy policy and legal information