displaying posts 1 to 24 of 24

Author Subject: AVO vs GAZ
osm2121

Regular

Post #1
Well, im planning on getting some coilovers for a 205, fast road/track day use, mainly.
So far according to my budget, and for what I´ve seen, im between the AVO GTZ and the GAZ GHA coilovers, they´re aprox £500, wich would be the best ones to buy?
Im new at this coilover thing, so I´d be glad if someone could give me a hand with this stuff.

The GAZ one says they are "on car damping adjustment" and the AVO says "With adjustable damping rate", that would be bound and rebound? Other than the riding height, I can adjust the damper "stiffnes" in this ones right?

Other thing, is the spring load. They say you can ask for different load springs, any recomendations? This would be the weekends toy, so I want a set as sporty for track use as posible, but still need to be able to use it in road, althoug I dont care much for comfort, dont want to break the car on the road.

And of course, which one is better made, lasts more and that stuff. Cause as im in Uruguay, chances on refurbing them here are almost none.

Thanks guys
Posted 20th Apr 2015 at 16:59
welshpug!

Capt Pedantic

Post #2
neither, stick to bilstein and save up more.

need a part number? get on here - http://public.servicebox.peugeot.com

Bring on the Trumpets.

Posted 20th Apr 2015 at 18:57
allanallen

Seasoned Pro

Post #3
Both will adjust compression and rebound together on one adjuster I believe. Spring rate depends on what torsion bars and arb you are running at the rear. On standard bars you won't be able to run soft enough springs with those dampers. The springs supplied with 306 coilovers are normally around 280lbx8", much softer and you run the risk of them going coilbound. Standard springs are in the region of 130lb so you can decide for yourself what doubling that will do without touching the rear!
I've used both gtz's and gha's and rated neither, I'd save up for something decent or at that budget go Bilstein/eibach.