displaying posts 1 to 11 of 11

Author Subject: Saxo Kitcar thread
welshpug!

Capt Pedantic

Post #1
I posted a few pics of Satchell Engineerings most recent wide track front suspension kit recently which has been fitted to a Saxo kitcar type Rally car I will be servicing for a few times this year.

RetroPug wrote:
WP, got any more info or specs on the saxo rally car?
Seems like it would be an interesting read.

SO here's a brief (maybe not so brief) ramble about how we got to this stage.

Owner is Garry Elswood, a guy I met through fellow PSCUK member Pugtop (Kev) as he was after an extra pair of hands for servicing on the rallies he does in Belgium.

here's his web page - http://garryelswoodmotorsport.co.uk/index.html

I've been servicing for Garry for about 5 maybe 6 years now for his first Saxo that he has had for over ten years

Started off life as a fairly low mileage car owned by a Teacher LOL then in 2002 iirc Garry got hold of it and did a road trip to Citroen Sport in France to get a few choice goodies, torsion bars and a short MA final drive and crown wheel iirc, plus a group N ecu and cams, Quaife diff.
Bilstein dampers all round, rallydesign wilwood front brake kit.

Safety devices multipoint welded in cage, short of the custom cages Saxmax cage probably one of the most comprehensive ones I've seen.

About 5 or 6 gearbox failures in 3-4 years on a mildly tuned engine including three Belgian DNF's and Garry finally got fed up and took the plunge and cracked on with a BE conversion in the winter of 08-09.

A few rallies came and finished without any drivetrain issues which was quite novel given previous history!

The inevitable search for more power started then, we were more regularly coming up against R2 spec C2's and the occasional Fiesta, these are all Works cars with 180-190 bhp single throttle 1600's running trick dampers and usually sequential gearboxes...