displaying posts 76 to 100 of 123

Pages (5): first .. 3 [4] 5

Author Subject: Project 6' (Ph1 Cossack)
luke89

Regular

Location: Preston

Registered: 28 Aug 2014

Posts: 486

Status: Offline

Post #76
This looks fantastic, great work on the paint, I'd love to have the knowledge to get mine looking that good.
Posted 31st Dec 2014 at 23:06
gretsch-drummer

Regular

Location: Leeds

Registered: 12 Feb 2011

Posts: 265

Status: Offline

Post #77
Cheers Luke. I'll be even happier with it if it keeps idling like this from now on:

________________________________________

Ph1 Cossack 6'
Posted 1st Jan 2015 at 22:29
luke89

Regular

Location: Preston

Registered: 28 Aug 2014

Posts: 486

Status: Offline

Post #78
What do you think was the issue in the end mate.
Posted 1st Jan 2015 at 23:33
gretsch-drummer

Regular

Location: Leeds

Registered: 12 Feb 2011

Posts: 265

Status: Offline

Post #79
I think the TPS plug might have played a part. I removed the plastic wire shroud as this really kinks the wires and removed the rubber shroud from the top of the plug and there were traces of oil inside. Removed the wires and plug and gave everything a good clean. Then left the battery disconnected over night for an ECU reset. Took a while to get the bloody alarm to turn off after reconnecting the battery though.

But looking through my cars history I got with it, there is a piece of paper which reads:

"TPS fault- Open circuit"

Will be getting it down to the garage to get wiring checked next week.

________________________________________

Ph1 Cossack 6'
Posted 1st Jan 2015 at 23:55
luke89

Regular

Location: Preston

Registered: 28 Aug 2014

Posts: 486

Status: Offline

Post #80
Interesting, I'll be in Leeds the week after next if you're knocking about.
Posted 1st Jan 2015 at 23:59
gretsch-drummer

Regular

Location: Leeds

Registered: 12 Feb 2011

Posts: 265

Status: Offline

Post #81
Yeah I'll be about. If you need someone to have a look over your car as well, I use someone who was Pug master tech when 6's were about so he knows his stuff.

________________________________________

Ph1 Cossack 6'
Posted 2nd Jan 2015 at 00:27
luke89

Regular

Location: Preston

Registered: 28 Aug 2014

Posts: 486

Status: Offline

Post #82
That would be brilliant mate, I really need someone to look at it as I've never so much as seen another in person to make sure mine runs right.
Posted 2nd Jan 2015 at 02:53
walker_texasranger

Seasoned Pro

Location: South Yorks Capital

Registered: 26 Jan 2008

Posts: 2,490

Status: Offline

Post #83
Glad it's running now mate Thumbs up

That stalling issue is one of the most frustrating things on these cars!

________________________________________

Almost standard 1999 Bianca Rallye
Hilux Invincible daily

306 No.13 Doh

Carp and specialist Anglers Click here
Posted 2nd Jan 2015 at 11:27
gretsch-drummer

Regular

Location: Leeds

Registered: 12 Feb 2011

Posts: 265

Status: Offline

Post #84
Didn't last long....Starting it 30mins after coming home from a perfect run it's being a c*nt again:



http://vid60.photobucket.com/albums/h19/gretsch_drummer/20150102_210948_zps6kf3qrbr.mp4

There's a clio 182 Trophy that's caught my eye.

________________________________________

Ph1 Cossack 6'
Posted 4th Jan 2015 at 10:37
Stuwee

Senior User

Location: st albans

Registered: 27 Jun 2007

Posts: 739

Status: Offline

Post #85
Have you checked the wiring loom under the thorttle body has not got a spit wire ?

Seen that cause eratic idling before, oil tends to leak from the throttle body to inlet pipe union on to that part of the loom which connects to the tps and map sensor and eventy causes the wire to go hard and then fracture.

Hope that helps.





________________________________________

Ph1 Cossack 6







Posted 3rd Jan 2015 at 21:07
gretsch-drummer

Regular

Location: Leeds

Registered: 12 Feb 2011

Posts: 265

Status: Offline

Post #86
Cheers Stu, there are traces of oil under the TB so you're right. Will remove the inlet piping and have a look at the wiring. Has GOT to be the only problem now.

Oh the joys of il-heat shrinked wiring.

________________________________________

Ph1 Cossack 6'
Posted 3rd Jan 2015 at 21:25
Stuwee

Senior User

Location: st albans

Registered: 27 Jun 2007

Posts: 739

Status: Offline

Post #87
No worries.
It can be an arsehole considering where the wiring loom is, it only a short length of loom before going into the main part of the loom.

You can also test the continuity with a multi meter which will also prove if there is a break or not. Sounds like wires are still making contact with each other as you said it comes and goes.

________________________________________

Ph1 Cossack 6







Posted 3rd Jan 2015 at 21:36
gretsch-drummer

Regular

Location: Leeds

Registered: 12 Feb 2011

Posts: 265

Status: Offline

Post #88
I wonder what the previous owner had done when he had the 'Permanent fault- TPS short/open circuit' found on the diagnostics. Non of the TPS wires looked chopped/repaired when I cut off the plastic shrink etc.

Strange.

________________________________________

Ph1 Cossack 6'
Posted 3rd Jan 2015 at 21:46
Stuwee

Senior User

Location: st albans

Registered: 27 Jun 2007

Posts: 739

Status: Offline

Post #89
Not sure on that tbh. Might have been a fault code stored, sometimes the fault will be stored but the light will not come on.

The ecu light is piontless on a 6, it never comes on , could be running 3 cylinders and still will not come on LOL

If it has been repaired before then it is probs the repair joint, a weak soilder joint etc.

________________________________________

Ph1 Cossack 6







Posted 3rd Jan 2015 at 22:21
luke89

Regular

Location: Preston

Registered: 28 Aug 2014

Posts: 486

Status: Offline

Post #90
I might go and have a look at my wiring actually. Also the same cable that comes from the MAP sensor has another connector thats plugged into nothing, I assumed it was a spare unused connector but maybe not.

Your link doesn't work for me by the way mate.
Posted 4th Jan 2015 at 00:11
gretsch-drummer

Regular

Location: Leeds

Registered: 12 Feb 2011

Posts: 265

Status: Offline

Post #91
Fixed the link now. Cheers.

I've got 2 ununsed plugs from the MAP sensor plug I think.

________________________________________

Ph1 Cossack 6'
Posted 4th Jan 2015 at 10:38
luke89

Regular

Location: Preston

Registered: 28 Aug 2014

Posts: 486

Status: Offline

Post #92
How strange,looks a completely different issue to mine.
Posted 5th Jan 2015 at 00:13
gretsch-drummer

Regular

Location: Leeds

Registered: 12 Feb 2011

Posts: 265

Status: Offline

Post #93
When the cars running crap it also has the problem like on your video with very slight throttle the revs will hang and drop slowly. Also sometimes when ever you'd set off with the slightest throttle the revs go straight to 2k. It's like the ECU can't detect the movement between 0k and 2k revs.

Any way, I've got it booked into 'Carwurx' for the week for Chris to sort it.

If not, it's Clio 182 time.

________________________________________

Ph1 Cossack 6'
Posted 5th Jan 2015 at 09:08
mik

Seasoned Pro

Location: Kent

Registered: 17 Feb 2011

Posts: 2,040

Status: Offline

Post #94
Hope you get this issue sorted, as is a really nice car.

On the paint thing, sometimes it looks OK initially as paint takes up to 6 weeks to fully dry, and there is some shrinkage as it dries which means flaws are not so noticeable initially.

________________________________________

Cherry Rallye

Posted 13th Feb 2015 at 17:56
gretsch-drummer

Regular

Location: Leeds

Registered: 12 Feb 2011

Posts: 265

Status: Offline

Post #95
It's been 'ok' for a week and hasn't done the 3k start idle, but it has cut out a couple times when dipping the clutch.

But it's driveable if I'm careful and drives spot on when it's playing ball.

________________________________________

Ph1 Cossack 6'
Posted 13th Feb 2015 at 18:38
gretsch-drummer

Regular

Location: Leeds

Registered: 12 Feb 2011

Posts: 265

Status: Offline

Post #96
Right, been on a bit of a spending spree. First bought a new CTS from pug and the car starts ALOT better, no dodgy starts or revs etc.

But also bought a set of Bilstein B4s, Eibach 30mm springs, pug strut bearings and metal drop links (thought I'd see how these are as I've only ever used plastic ones before). Got Carwurx to fit them all.

Here's how it sits just after fitting:


Think I might have to have a play with the rear beam, the front right sits 15mm higher than the left and the left rear sits 15mm higher than the right. But my driveway might have a slight slant. Also I think the metal droplinks transmit a bit more road noise.

But the ride is great on those billys and 'bachs.

________________________________________

Ph1 Cossack 6'
Posted 12th May 2015 at 18:01
tompaltridge

Senior User

Location: -

Registered: 14 Sep 2007

Posts: 915

Status: Offline

Post #97
gretsch-drummer wrote:
Also I think the metal droplinks transmit a bit more road noise.


If you're experiencing increased road noise after fitting new shock absorbers, springs and drop links, it is overwhelmingly more likely that the shocks and/or springs are the cause, not the droplinks.
Posted 12th May 2015 at 20:33
gretsch-drummer

Regular

Location: Leeds

Registered: 12 Feb 2011

Posts: 265

Status: Offline

Post #98
Bugger, well I'll just have to live with it. Cheers.

________________________________________

Ph1 Cossack 6'
Posted 12th May 2015 at 21:11
jeffers Forum Admin

Location: Leeds

Registered: 14 Dec 2003

Posts: 3,553

Status: Offline

Post #99
gretsch-drummer wrote:
Bugger, well I'll just have to live with it. Cheers.
i ran metal drop links on mine when it was standard and they never increased road noise I'd suggest it's the newly fitted dampers etc.

________________________________________

Team Running Engine again!
Team Negative Camber!
My Budget track engine build thread!
Now appearing at a Trackday near you!!Hyper Hyper
Posted 12th May 2015 at 21:14
gretsch-drummer

Regular

Location: Leeds

Registered: 12 Feb 2011

Posts: 265

Status: Offline

Post #100
Well not much has happened except getting the lower engine mount replaced a few weeks ago and it currently having its clutch changed. (GSF had a 41% discount code so brought Valeo kits down to £60!)

Managed to find a set of cyclones with centre holes machined out on ebay for just £20:


And now trimming down centre caps so they push right in:


Will be sending them off to the powder-coaters when done. Not messing about doing them myself when it will just cost £60 for all 4.

________________________________________

Ph1 Cossack 6'
Posted 24th Feb 2016 at 14:26

Pages (5): first .. 3 [4] 5

You are not able to post as you are not a member.
If you would like to upgrade your membership, please read the Membership section.

All times are GMT. The time is now 02:12

The Peugeot GTi-6 & Rallye Owners Club Ltd - Registered in England & Wales - Reg No: 07410694 - ©2017 all rights reserved.

Please Note : The views and opinions found herein are those of individuals, and not of The Peugeot 306 GTi-6 & Rallye Owners Club Ltd or any individuals involved.
No responsibility is taken or assumed for any comments or statements made on, or in relation to, this website. Please see our legal information