displaying posts 1 to 25 of 34

Pages (2): [1] 2

Author Subject: Superchip ecu reset
hsustyle

Seasoned Pro

Location: High Hurstwood

Registered: 08 Nov 2011

Posts: 1,037

Status: Offline

Post #1
Silly question about it I'd rather be safe than sorry..
New Rallye has a Superchip fitted, Receipts for about, £240 including power run and printout. Bla bla
I'm looking to fit a standard exhaust rather than the Powerflow and the standard airbox.

Then reset ecu.

Will an ecu reset it affect the chip at all? I gather it's a generic map and not an actual remap.

________________________________________

Beef Beyond Belief
Posted 26th Mar 2013 at 10:05
rikky

Forum Pikey

Location: cheshire

Registered: 28 Feb 2004

Posts: 26,785

Status: Offline

Post #2
can't see it affecting it but tbh i would be more intent on removing it personally

________________________________________

306 rallye reproduction decals (full sets/individual decals) | 306 b-pillar textured vinyl weatherstrips
306 slam panel esso stickers | 306 yellow / orange / pension fund red side door badges
306 red '6' 3d-printed badges (old part no 866503) | gti6 inlet manifold badges | 306 rear boot badges (p2/p3)
winner of Extraction of toys from prams with outstanding vigour award 2009 [source: gti6 owners club]
Posted 26th Mar 2013 at 10:06
hsustyle

Seasoned Pro

Location: High Hurstwood

Registered: 08 Nov 2011

Posts: 1,037

Status: Offline

Post #3
Yup I can't see why someone would spend that money on a generic chip.
It's currently on 173bhp with K&n, sports cat, Powerflow and this Superchip. I was expecting a bit more..

Just wanted to make sure the chip doesn't throw a paddy.

________________________________________

Beef Beyond Belief
Posted 26th Mar 2013 at 10:11
stan_306gti6 Forum Admin

Location: Kent

Registered: 18 Jan 2004

Posts: 21,784

Status: Offline

Post #4
The chip has a generic 'map' stored on it, resetting the ECU won't lose this so don't worry.

However as Rikky says, you're probably best off removing it. Thumbs up

________________________________________

"Supercharged - 454.1bhp/317.5lb/ft"
Peugeot 306 GTi-6
2000 (X), Moonstone Love
Posted 26th Mar 2013 at 10:24
scott.t16

Newbie

Location: Crowborough

Registered: 27 May 2010

Posts: 24

Status: Offline

Post #5
Mine had the same set-up as yours when I first got it - superchip, powerflow exhaust and k & n fitted.

I've put a standard exhaust and airbox back on since, but kept the superchips ECU mainly because I can't be bothered to go through the hassle of removing it.

I've reset the ecu at least once and haven't had any problems. Hope that helps Amin

________________________________________

Ph3 Black Gti 6
Posted 26th Mar 2013 at 12:33
hsustyle

Seasoned Pro

Location: High Hurstwood

Registered: 08 Nov 2011

Posts: 1,037

Status: Offline

Post #6
Ok cool, thanks for that Scott. Three black 306s in Crowborough now!

________________________________________

Beef Beyond Belief
Posted 26th Mar 2013 at 12:42
scott.t16

Newbie

Location: Crowborough

Registered: 27 May 2010

Posts: 24

Status: Offline

Post #7
Yeah I know... Good to hear you're back in a 306!

Got any plans for it?

________________________________________

Ph3 Black Gti 6
Posted 26th Mar 2013 at 13:07
hsustyle

Seasoned Pro

Location: High Hurstwood

Registered: 08 Nov 2011

Posts: 1,037

Status: Offline

Post #8
scott.t16 wrote:
Yeah I know... Good to hear you're back in a 306!

Got any plans for it?


Nothing major, just standard exhaust and airbox, refurb cyclones in silver, repair ripped drivers seat and new Rallye decals.
It's pretty damn tidy overall. I'll get a progress blog up soon.

________________________________________

Beef Beyond Belief
Posted 26th Mar 2013 at 13:54
eliotrw

Seasoned Pro

Location: Southwark

Registered: 18 Jul 2010

Posts: 4,863

Status: Offline

Post #9
Why remove the superchip...
I thought these were actually pretty decent?
Good gain in the mid range?

________________________________________

Ex- Phase 3 China GTi-6 T-Reg
Posted 26th Mar 2013 at 15:19
hsustyle

Seasoned Pro

Location: High Hurstwood

Registered: 08 Nov 2011

Posts: 1,037

Status: Offline

Post #10
Graph looks smooth and torque is steady too.

________________________________________

Beef Beyond Belief
Posted 26th Mar 2013 at 15:59
stan_306gti6 Forum Admin

Location: Kent

Registered: 18 Jan 2004

Posts: 21,784

Status: Offline

Post #11
eliotrw wrote:
Why remove the superchip...
I thought these were actually pretty decent?
Good gain in the mid range?


Because they are a generic map. The only real benefit any change to the mapping will be if the map is bespoke for your particular vehicle, then it's worth doing. Yes

________________________________________

"Supercharged - 454.1bhp/317.5lb/ft"
Peugeot 306 GTi-6
2000 (X), Moonstone Love
Posted 26th Mar 2013 at 16:26
scott.t16

Newbie

Location: Crowborough

Registered: 27 May 2010

Posts: 24

Status: Offline

Post #12
Any idea how you would go about getting these removed Stan?

I've always thought Superchips would probably charge you to get the original map reinstalled, so haven't really bothered.

________________________________________

Ph3 Black Gti 6
Posted 26th Mar 2013 at 16:40
eliotrw

Seasoned Pro

Location: Southwark

Registered: 18 Jul 2010

Posts: 4,863

Status: Offline

Post #13
stan_306gti6 wrote:
eliotrw wrote:
Why remove the superchip...
I thought these were actually pretty decent?
Good gain in the mid range?


Because they are a generic map. The only real benefit any change to the mapping will be if the map is bespoke for your particular vehicle, then it's worth doing. Yes


Better than the standard one though surely? As thats only generic as well?

________________________________________

Ex- Phase 3 China GTi-6 T-Reg
Posted 26th Mar 2013 at 16:45
smegal

Seasoned Pro

Location: Leeds

Registered: 26 Dec 2005

Posts: 5,940

Status: Offline

Post #14
eliotrw wrote:
stan_306gti6 wrote:
eliotrw wrote:
Why remove the superchip...
I thought these were actually pretty decent?
Good gain in the mid range?


Because they are a generic map. The only real benefit any change to the mapping will be if the map is bespoke for your particular vehicle, then it's worth doing. Yes


Better than the standard one though surely? As thats only generic as well?


As us the low boost supercharger map.

________________________________________

Ex SC-6

Now in a Megane R26
Posted 26th Mar 2013 at 16:49
stan_306gti6 Forum Admin

Location: Kent

Registered: 18 Jan 2004

Posts: 21,784

Status: Offline

Post #15
Exactly the same problems occur with the low booat generic map from what I can tell. Yes

Some cars stall more than others and some have hesitation in the mid-range, all of which could be ironed out or bettered with a bespoke map.

________________________________________

"Supercharged - 454.1bhp/317.5lb/ft"
Peugeot 306 GTi-6
2000 (X), Moonstone Love
Posted 26th Mar 2013 at 22:29
coskev

Seasoned Pro

Location: Oswestry

Registered: 01 Nov 2009

Posts: 3,132

Status: Offline

Post #16
Leave the superchip inThumbs up

Yeah its not as good as custom re-map but it won't hurt changing exhaust/air filter etc.

They are a old style chip in these, that needs phsyically removing and a standard chip refitting, so quite an expensive job imo for something that does not need doing!Thumbs up

________________________________________

Red GTB1756 powered Fabia VRS daily driver,LBSC Gti6 eater........

Mac1 ZR R1 kit car build in progress.
Posted 27th Mar 2013 at 09:01
stan_306gti6 Forum Admin

Location: Kent

Registered: 18 Jan 2004

Posts: 21,784

Status: Offline

Post #17
coskev wrote:
Leave the superchip inThumbs up

Yeah its not as good as custom re-map but it won't hurt changing exhaust/air filter etc.

They are a old style chip in these, that needs phsyically removing and a standard chip refitting, so quite an expensive job imo for something that does not need doing!Thumbs up


This is very true, it won't hurt it as such being there and it will cost to get it removed. I personally would rather not have it but for the cost of removing it, might not be worth it.

________________________________________

"Supercharged - 454.1bhp/317.5lb/ft"
Peugeot 306 GTi-6
2000 (X), Moonstone Love
Posted 27th Mar 2013 at 09:35
coskev

Seasoned Pro

Location: Oswestry

Registered: 01 Nov 2009

Posts: 3,132

Status: Offline

Post #18
If you really do want rid of it sell your ecu and transponder/chip etcWink

And say buyer must part ex there standard ecu and transponder/chipThumbs up

If you do decide to do this drop me a pm please, as I would be interested in yoursYes

________________________________________

Red GTB1756 powered Fabia VRS daily driver,LBSC Gti6 eater........

Mac1 ZR R1 kit car build in progress.
Posted 27th Mar 2013 at 13:51
hsustyle

Seasoned Pro

Location: High Hurstwood

Registered: 08 Nov 2011

Posts: 1,037

Status: Offline

Post #19
Will do. Cheers for the info.

________________________________________

Beef Beyond Belief
Posted 27th Mar 2013 at 14:04
mattgti6phase2

Seasoned Pro

Location: inside my 6 abusing the tarmac!!

Registered: 16 Jul 2010

Posts: 2,371

Status: Offline

Post #20
A super chip map is installed via the diagnostic port so can very easily be converted back at very little cost.

The difference is nothing. Slight advances to ignition is the only difference. When mine was standard it made standard power with a very healthy graph no dips at any point in the rev range for power or torque so IMO its not worth touching.

Cams and or bodies would be the only time i would bother with a remap (custom) small adjustments like decat exhaust and air filter the ECU can learn itself and adjust accordingly.

________________________________________

Team Nile 6 Superman
Team: 40.2 MPG Smile
5 x a 306 owner!
currently abusing type r's in a town near you Wink
I truely live for the 306 ®
Build date: 29th October 1997 Wednesday's car
midweek madness Tee hee
Posted 27th Mar 2013 at 20:28
coskev

Seasoned Pro

Location: Oswestry

Registered: 01 Nov 2009

Posts: 3,132

Status: Offline

Post #21
mattgti6phase2 wrote:
A super chip map is installed via the diagnostic port so can very easily be converted back at very little cost.



Are you sure?Dunno

Cause I know Andy bought a ECU off RichW with a Superchip in it and the chip came loose so Rich had the ECU back to re-fit it.

Also if you can re-map via the diagnostic port why do Chip Wizards have to solder in a port so they can adjust the map?Yes

________________________________________

Red GTB1756 powered Fabia VRS daily driver,LBSC Gti6 eater........

Mac1 ZR R1 kit car build in progress.
Posted 27th Mar 2013 at 20:34
smegal

Seasoned Pro

Location: Leeds

Registered: 26 Dec 2005

Posts: 5,940

Status: Offline

Post #22
coskev wrote:
mattgti6phase2 wrote:
A super chip map is installed via the diagnostic port so can very easily be converted back at very little cost.



Are you sure?Dunno

Cause I know Andy bought a ECU off RichW with a Superchip in it and the chip came loose so Rich had the ECU back to re-fit it.

Also if you can re-map via the diagnostic port why do Chip Wizards have to solder in a port so they can adjust the map?Yes


Correct. On new cars, this may be the case, but on older cars you have to change the chip.

________________________________________

Ex SC-6

Now in a Megane R26
Posted 27th Mar 2013 at 20:50
mattgti6phase2

Seasoned Pro

Location: inside my 6 abusing the tarmac!!

Registered: 16 Jul 2010

Posts: 2,371

Status: Offline

Post #23
100000000000000000000% a 306 can have its map altered via diagnostic. The ECU has an EEPROM style chip so it can be re written and put back to standard. They remove the standard file and save it on the laptop then put the new file on.

________________________________________

Team Nile 6 Superman
Team: 40.2 MPG Smile
5 x a 306 owner!
currently abusing type r's in a town near you Wink
I truely live for the 306 ®
Build date: 29th October 1997 Wednesday's car
midweek madness Tee hee
Posted 28th Mar 2013 at 09:56
coskev

Seasoned Pro

Location: Oswestry

Registered: 01 Nov 2009

Posts: 3,132

Status: Offline

Post #24
mattgti6phase2 wrote:
100000000000000000000% a 306 can have its map altered via diagnostic. The ECU has an EEPROM style chip so it can be re written and put back to standard. They remove the standard file and save it on the laptop then put the new file on.


Strange that is, as I've been told by demon tweeks, who are superchips dealers, that the ecu needs opening up and a new chip insertingYes

Also spoke to motorsport developments in blackpool that produce the evolution chips and they said the sameDunno

So you have actually seen it done via diagnostic port?

________________________________________

Red GTB1756 powered Fabia VRS daily driver,LBSC Gti6 eater........

Mac1 ZR R1 kit car build in progress.
Posted 28th Mar 2013 at 11:19
coskev

Seasoned Pro

Location: Oswestry

Registered: 01 Nov 2009

Posts: 3,132

Status: Offline

Post #25
Also why do chip wizards go to the trouble of adding a cable with a connector into the ecu to alter the map if it can be done via diagnostic port?

________________________________________

Red GTB1756 powered Fabia VRS daily driver,LBSC Gti6 eater........

Mac1 ZR R1 kit car build in progress.
Posted 28th Mar 2013 at 11:22

Pages (2): [1] 2

1999 Citroen Saxo

  • 1600cc
  • Purple
  • 70,000 miles

£1,695

Location: Buckinghamshire

All times are GMT. The time is now 11:06

The Peugeot GTi-6 & Rallye Owners Club Ltd - Registered in England & Wales - Reg No: 07410694 - ©2023 all rights reserved.

Please Note : The views and opinions found herein are those of individuals, and not of The Peugeot 306 GTi-6 & Rallye Owners Club Ltd or any individuals involved.
No responsibility is taken or assumed for any comments or statements made on, or in relation to, this website. Please see our updated privacy policy and legal information