displaying posts 1 to 18 of 18

Author Subject: my first non phase 1
jimmyhackers

Seasoned Pro

Post #1
as my gti is still in pieces and on the drawing board as to purpose ive bought another 306 to tootle about in, this will be my fourth 306. but my first one that is not a phase one.

is a 2.0 xsi v reg and i am pleasantly pleased with it, for 400 quid i cant complain. the rev counter and oil level dial arnt working but everything else is perfect so see it as a good buy.

after about 2 weeks of owning it i though id just let people know what a like and dont about the "face lift" model.

likes.
bonnet dampers, (very cool)
the pockets where the keypad used to be in the centre console. (they hold a phone/wallet really well)
stealth shelf instead of exposed speakers
extra rear brake light
the electric window buttons are in a better place

dislikes.
not having the top glovebox
not having the keypad (i like to pretend im a secret agent or a fighter pilot)
exterior "facelift" styling.......nearly all of it.....even the colour coding isnt to my taste (i prefer the retro look)
the rain sensor is really miffing me off. ( i know how fast i want my wipers to go!!!)
the interior styling........the door cards seem rather wastefull on the space side. and its seems a bit pooey nail that they went from nice black leather and alacantara, to patterns of splodgy paint drawn oak leaves??????
im just glad someone before me swapped the seats for older style leather and alacantara seats.

out of interest how different is my 2.0 xsi engine and car from a gti6? the brakes seem identical, the only differnce i can make out is the inlet and exhaust manifold along with the rev limit. am i correct in my observations?
i only ask as i still have the exhaust mainfold and few other bits from my totalled gti6 engine.

thanks for your replies in advance

the world is changed by people in sheds
Posted 7th Mar 2012 at 01:15
mattgti6phase2

Seasoned Pro

Post #2