displaying posts 1 to 11 of 11

Author Subject: Demister Switch?
mik

Seasoned Pro

Post #1
Hi,

I'm new to the GTI-6/Rallye, so this question might seem a bit bone. When I push in my de-mister switch, it lights up, but when I release it, it comes back out again and the light goes out. It is not like the hazard switch that pushes in and stays on, then push it again to turn off. I've removed it from the housing as I am re-painting my fascia, and it definitely operates differently from the hazard switch.

Is the switch defective, or is there something I'm not doing right?

Thanks.

Cherry Rallye SOLD

Posted 1st May 2011 at 01:08
c_j_m

Seasoned Pro

Post #2
Nope, as it should be.
Push it to turn it on, then it turns itself off after about 10 mins.
Posted 1st May 2011 at 01:19
mik

Seasoned Pro

Post #3
Something I don't have to fix then! Thanks.

Cherry Rallye SOLD

Posted 1st May 2011 at 04:08
stu

Seasoned Pro

Post #4
The light should stay on after you release the switch, this shows that the demisting function is working.

If it's going out immediately after you release the switch, then it is not functioning correctly.
Posted 1st May 2011 at 06:06
misschief

Seasoned Pro

Post #5
mine does this. you press the button and do you hear a 'click' from the fusebox area? I've been told it's the large orange relay on the fusebox which is likely knackered.
Posted 1st May 2011 at 08:25
mik

Seasoned Pro

Post #6
stu wrote:
The light should stay on after you release the switch, this shows that the demisting function is working.

If it's going out immediately after you release the switch, then it is not functioning correctly.

misschief wrote:
you press the button and do you hear a 'click' from the fusebox area? I've been told it's the large orange relay on the fusebox which is likely knackered.

That is exactly what it is doing. Seems like it is something to fix after all. SBF.

EDIT: Found this just now - same issue as mine.