displaying posts 1 to 10 of 10

Author Subject: hunting and stalling gti6
l_e_cook

Post #1
i have just bought a 1998 306 gti6, got her home and all was running sweet,until the next day when i started it from cold first of all it stalled out and when i restarted it it starter revving up and down between 1000 and 2000 rpm , this happens whether its hot or cold and today on my way home from work in the rush hour traffic it kept stalling out yet it still starts back up on the button

any ideas?? would be great as i only got it Friday just gone and am still yet to enjoy it

cheers
Posted 31st Jan 2011 at 22:59
eliotrw

Seasoned Pro

Post #2
I have this every now and again, I think its the icv
Idle control valve, either that or the maf, but someone more in the know should be able to clarify

Ex- Phase 3 China GTi-6 T-Reg
Posted 31st Jan 2011 at 23:05
l_e_cook

Post #3
i am totally new to the gti engine had a old Dturbo before but this is my first proper powerful car if anyone has pictures of where the sensors are and whether i should go genuine or if non-gen will do the trick would be much appreciated

cheers
Posted 31st Jan 2011 at 23:07

Junior User

Post #4
hi been having simular probs with my 1.6 engine, unplug the throttle positioning sensor just on the back of the throttle body if this helps find out what the resitance should be mine is

closed throttle - 1.4v
open throttle - 4.9v

use a multimeter and check the voltage by opening and closing, check your manual for your resistence,
check for vacum leaks,clean iacv, clean the butterfly in the throttle body could have carbon build up,check purge canister, fuel delivery, injecters,map sensor,engine compresion,fuel pump,ingnition coil, spark leads etc....

it could be many thinks which cause this kind of problem just gota try evrything and hope for the best.