displaying posts 26 to 50 of 68

Pages (3): 1 [2] 3

Author Subject: Hydraulic clutch conversion
daveyboy

aka Jim Davey

Location: Southampton

Registered: 01 Oct 2007

Posts: 8,648

Status: Offline

Post #26
spiky wrote:
the ford cossie guys a bmw part (thrust bearing )for their hydraulic clutch,

and i dont understand why you need to go to a pedal box to just have a hydralic clutch


You don't have to, but I'll be fitting one anyway, so it makes sense to get the right one from the start.

________________________________________

R H Davey Welding Supplies. I sell new and used welding equipment in the Hampshire area. I take on welding jobs in the evenings, ally casting repairs are one of my specialities but I can weld pretty much anything. PM me with your requirements.

Some of my services: (See my for sale threads)
Engine mount/chassis repair
Solid Beam Mounts BACK IN PRODUCTION
Harness bars
Posted 18th May 2010 at 15:03
spiky

Seasoned Pro

Location: Cardiff

Registered: 13 Oct 2006

Posts: 2,310

Status: Offline

Post #27
gti6girl wrote:
We use an ap racing slave unit which was machined in to the box a little. You will also need a rallye pedal box and loose your servo which makes the braking pretty shit


daveyboy

i was referring to comment above really Smile

________________________________________

Do you need a 205 > 306 gti6 plug and go engine loom? PM ME

TORQUES for all your braided fuel line needs

MY YouTube Videos'

SUPERCHARGED 205 GTI6.... are you Fooking nuts!.... ummmm YIP Smile

268+BHP and 860kg = FUN
Posted 18th May 2010 at 15:22
daveyboy

aka Jim Davey

Location: Southampton

Registered: 01 Oct 2007

Posts: 8,648

Status: Offline

Post #28
spiky wrote:
gti6girl wrote:
We use an ap racing slave unit which was machined in to the box a little. You will also need a rallye pedal box and loose your servo which makes the braking pretty shit


daveyboy

i was referring to comment above really Smile


Ah, don't see why the braking has to be shit, if you get the right size master cylinder it should be fine.

________________________________________

R H Davey Welding Supplies. I sell new and used welding equipment in the Hampshire area. I take on welding jobs in the evenings, ally casting repairs are one of my specialities but I can weld pretty much anything. PM me with your requirements.

Some of my services: (See my for sale threads)
Engine mount/chassis repair
Solid Beam Mounts BACK IN PRODUCTION
Harness bars
Posted 18th May 2010 at 17:44
phillipm

Seasoned Pro

Location: Rotherham

Registered: 15 Oct 2006

Posts: 20,584

Status: Offline

Post #29
You'll need to get as much slack out of the system as possible so you can run a fairly small M/C, along with some high-torque pads.

________________________________________

- Bespoke rollcages/additions/adjustments. Half cages right up to complete custom spaceframes - MSA/FIA spec, CDS, ROPT, T45, etc - PM me
Email me!
Custom-made polybushes available - need an odd size or fitment? - anything from batch work to one-off pieces.
Posted 18th May 2010 at 18:43
daveyboy

aka Jim Davey

Location: Southampton

Registered: 01 Oct 2007

Posts: 8,648

Status: Offline

Post #30
phillipm wrote:
You'll need to get as much slack out of the system as possible so you can run a fairly small M/C, along with some high-torque pads.


Carbon Lorraines will do the trick Ninja

________________________________________

R H Davey Welding Supplies. I sell new and used welding equipment in the Hampshire area. I take on welding jobs in the evenings, ally casting repairs are one of my specialities but I can weld pretty much anything. PM me with your requirements.

Some of my services: (See my for sale threads)
Engine mount/chassis repair
Solid Beam Mounts BACK IN PRODUCTION
Harness bars
Posted 24th May 2010 at 21:56
ecureuil_zx16v

Regular

Location: BRAZIL

Registered: 17 Dec 2006

Posts: 256

Status: Offline

Post #31
mine



for this clutch

________________________________________

Citroen ZX 16v

XU10J4RS turbo
Posted 2nd Jun 2010 at 22:47
daveyboy

aka Jim Davey

Location: Southampton

Registered: 01 Oct 2007

Posts: 8,648

Status: Offline

Post #32
Very nice, does that setup work on a BE4 casing? And did you need to do any machining to the gearboc to fit that slave cylinder?

________________________________________

R H Davey Welding Supplies. I sell new and used welding equipment in the Hampshire area. I take on welding jobs in the evenings, ally casting repairs are one of my specialities but I can weld pretty much anything. PM me with your requirements.

Some of my services: (See my for sale threads)
Engine mount/chassis repair
Solid Beam Mounts BACK IN PRODUCTION
Harness bars
Posted 2nd Jun 2010 at 22:52
ecureuil_zx16v

Regular

Location: BRAZIL

Registered: 17 Dec 2006

Posts: 256

Status: Offline

Post #33
much probably will fit, it's a very compact hydraulic release bearing... alcon one has 46mm tall, this one is 41mm tall... (5mm can make the difference). Only measuring you can be sure.. but must have enough space, for the bearing and for a mounting flange

Dind't do any machining to the gearbox, just made the flange between the 2 hole patterns..

________________________________________

Citroen ZX 16v

XU10J4RS turbo
Posted 3rd Jun 2010 at 11:47
daveyboy

aka Jim Davey

Location: Southampton

Registered: 01 Oct 2007

Posts: 8,648

Status: Offline

Post #34
ecureuil_zx16v wrote:
much probably will fit, it's a very compact hydraulic release bearing... alcon one has 46mm tall, this one is 41mm tall... (5mm can make the difference). Only measuring you can be sure.. but must have enough space, for the bearing and for a mounting flange

Dind't do any machining to the gearbox, just made the flange between the 2 hole patterns..


Thankyou mate, just what I'm after Smile

________________________________________

R H Davey Welding Supplies. I sell new and used welding equipment in the Hampshire area. I take on welding jobs in the evenings, ally casting repairs are one of my specialities but I can weld pretty much anything. PM me with your requirements.

Some of my services: (See my for sale threads)
Engine mount/chassis repair
Solid Beam Mounts BACK IN PRODUCTION
Harness bars
Posted 3rd Jun 2010 at 14:44
adam b

Seasoned Pro

Location: The Nam

Registered: 24 Jan 2006

Posts: 12,824

Status: Offline

Post #35
ecureuil_zx16v - anyone ever tell you that you are completely mad? In a good way, but mad all the same Big grin

________________________________________

Bianca Rallye
Posted 3rd Jun 2010 at 17:38
welshpug!

Capt Pedantic

Location: Bigend, Wales.

Registered: 27 Mar 2007

Posts: 25,759

Status: Offline

Post #36
I would've mind seeing the pedal end, I know what the clutch end could look like LOL

________________________________________

need a part number? get on here - http://public.servicebox.peugeot.com

Bring on the Trumpets.

Posted 3rd Jun 2010 at 23:45
pdd144c

Senior User

Location: Southampton

Registered: 09 Dec 2005

Posts: 550

Status: Offline

Post #37
f*ck me you're taking this seriously Jim! Are you going to fabricate a pedal box then?

If you speak to Helix they can do a clutch that will be perfect without losing the clutch cable... Might be a cheaper option? And easier to repair at the circuit if needed, as if the slave seal goes it's gearbox off.

With regards starts a lot of series do rolling starts so this will help limit clutch wear...

________________________________________

FOR SALE

205 Turbo Technics complete and 306 Rallye Race Build breaking.
Posted 4th Jun 2010 at 01:31
welshpug!

Capt Pedantic

Location: Bigend, Wales.

Registered: 27 Mar 2007

Posts: 25,759

Status: Offline

Post #38
use a BE4 (or BE1) casing, slave sits on the outside Smile

________________________________________

need a part number? get on here - http://public.servicebox.peugeot.com

Bring on the Trumpets.

Posted 4th Jun 2010 at 01:45
pdd144c

Senior User

Location: Southampton

Registered: 09 Dec 2005

Posts: 550

Status: Offline

Post #39
Ah ok, makes good sense.

________________________________________

FOR SALE

205 Turbo Technics complete and 306 Rallye Race Build breaking.
Posted 4th Jun 2010 at 01:51
welshpug!

Capt Pedantic

Location: Bigend, Wales.

Registered: 27 Mar 2007

Posts: 25,759

Status: Offline

Post #40
I don't know if anyone has done that yet though, the box pictured is an ML!

quite a few BE4's have a standard hydraulic clutch slave bolted across the front with an arm like a BE1 box.

________________________________________

need a part number? get on here - http://public.servicebox.peugeot.com

Bring on the Trumpets.

Posted 4th Jun 2010 at 02:08
ecureuil_zx16v

Regular

Location: BRAZIL

Registered: 17 Dec 2006

Posts: 256

Status: Offline

Post #41
I use a ML5T gearbox, but there isn't why not use this setup in a BE gearbox

will take a picture of this hydraulic release bearing in a BE4 gearbox

One thing you can be sure... its the most expensive way Sad
But people say it's the best option possible for clutch release

If you can use a slave cylinder outside the gearbox much probably will be a lot easier and cheaper

________________________________________

Citroen ZX 16v

XU10J4RS turbo
Posted 4th Jun 2010 at 03:22
ecureuil_zx16v

Regular

Location: BRAZIL

Registered: 17 Dec 2006

Posts: 256

Status: Offline

Post #42
adam b wrote:
ecureuil_zx16v - anyone ever tell you that you are completely mad? In a good way, but mad all the same Big grin


Lots of people Sad

But that's my intention... Devil

________________________________________

Citroen ZX 16v

XU10J4RS turbo
Posted 4th Jun 2010 at 03:31
206

Newbie

Location: Belgrade

Registered: 24 Feb 2011

Posts: 42

Status: Offline

Post #43
Hi guys,

registered specifically for this thread, as the topic is something i've been thinking about for a while now.

I have a slightly overpowered 206 GTI (that's an understatement...LOL), running a very aggressive AP Racing twin plate 184mm clutch, on an GTI 180 BE4 gearbox, using a cable operated AP clutch bearing. Needless to say, apart from operating more like an on/off switch rather than a clutch, it's EXTREMELY heavy - combination of the 2 makes it impossible to modulate. So what i'm thinking is that it would be a good idea to replace the regular bearing with a hydraulic one, if i can find one slim enough with adequate throw-out.

I was also thinking, instead of making the hydraulic bearing fir the cable bearing gearbox, it would be much easier, i think, to find a car that already uses a BE4 gearbox and a master/slave hydraulic bearing setup, cannibalize the casing from it, and combine it with the existing gearbox on the car - and use the OE hydraulic setup on the AP clutch. Yes, it might not be ideal, might be heavy, might not work at all, but still worth a try.

Ideas? Recommendations? Comments?

Also, what car uses a BE4 that fits onto an EW10 block, with cable linkage and hydraulic bearing setup?

Thanks.
Posted 24th Feb 2011 at 20:33
welshpug!

Capt Pedantic

Location: Bigend, Wales.

Registered: 27 Mar 2007

Posts: 25,759

Status: Offline

Post #44
206 wrote:
Also, what car uses a BE4 that fits onto an EW10 block, with cable linkage and hydraulic bearing setup?

Thanks.


206 gti180 LOL

________________________________________

need a part number? get on here - http://public.servicebox.peugeot.com

Bring on the Trumpets.

Posted 24th Feb 2011 at 23:04
206

Newbie

Location: Belgrade

Registered: 24 Feb 2011

Posts: 42

Status: Offline

Post #45
...well, do you think i'd be asking that question if that car really had hydraulic bearing + cables? Smile I've got 4 GTI 180 boxes lying about, and they are all mechanical with rod linkage.
Posted 25th Feb 2011 at 00:50
welshpug!

Capt Pedantic

Location: Bigend, Wales.

Registered: 27 Mar 2007

Posts: 25,759

Status: Offline

Post #46
can't be from 180's then LOL

the 138 gti clutch setup is the same as the 180, but the 180 uses cable shift.

________________________________________

need a part number? get on here - http://public.servicebox.peugeot.com

Bring on the Trumpets.

Posted 25th Feb 2011 at 00:57
206

Newbie

Location: Belgrade

Registered: 24 Feb 2011

Posts: 42

Status: Offline

Post #47
Yes, they're all from the 180, but i'm a moron, and a very tired one at the moment. making STUPID mistakes Smile Asking a similar question about another car's gearbox, and mixing up my facts...never mind LOL

Yes, they are cable operated, but using mechanical clutch, so no good. Other ideas?

Posted 25th Feb 2011 at 01:30
206

Newbie

Location: Belgrade

Registered: 24 Feb 2011

Posts: 42

Status: Offline

Post #48
Oh, btw - the car - 206 GTI, EW10J4, GT30 turbo, ITBs, nitrous, TON of other mods, 6 years and who knows ho much $$$. 470BHP.

206 has attached the following image:

Posted 25th Feb 2011 at 01:15
welshpug!

Capt Pedantic

Location: Bigend, Wales.

Registered: 27 Mar 2007

Posts: 25,759

Status: Offline

Post #49
RHD 138 and 180 have hydraulic clutch Thumbs up

________________________________________

need a part number? get on here - http://public.servicebox.peugeot.com

Bring on the Trumpets.

Posted 25th Feb 2011 at 01:30
206

Newbie

Location: Belgrade

Registered: 24 Feb 2011

Posts: 42

Status: Offline

Post #50
Nope, no RHD cars over here...

There must be SOMETHING that uses the BE4 hydraulic clutch that i can find over here???
Posted 25th Feb 2011 at 01:34

Pages (3): 1 [2] 3

1992 Peugeot 205 GTI

  • 1900cc
  • Red
  • 76,000 miles

£2,700

Location: Porthcawl

All times are GMT. The time is now 17:36

The Peugeot GTi-6 & Rallye Owners Club Ltd - Registered in England & Wales - Reg No: 07410694 - ©2021 all rights reserved.

Please Note : The views and opinions found herein are those of individuals, and not of The Peugeot 306 GTi-6 & Rallye Owners Club Ltd or any individuals involved.
No responsibility is taken or assumed for any comments or statements made on, or in relation to, this website. Please see our updated privacy policy and legal information