displaying posts 1 to 11 of 11

Author Subject: 'clunking' from the front. Advice needed
cahillscornerflag

Senior User

Post #1
Hello chaps, firstly i've searched and searched and although there are plenty of topics on this already, i didn't really feel any of them specific to my problem.

I've developed a 'clunk' from the front.
Whenever i turn left under load or if i'm turning left to go up a hill (as if the car is flexing to get up a banking) there's a rather loud bang coming from what sounds like the front right wheel, i must add, this isn't at speed.

I've also started to develope a clunk, felt through the steering wheel and in the footwell, whilst under hard acceleration and braking. I've been under the car to have a good look and cant see anything obvious. All bolts were tight, droplinks seemed ok and bushes are fine. I'm pretty certain it isn't drive shaft related but i'm no mechanic.

Does anybody have any experience of this or something similar or does anybody have any suggestions as to what it could be exactly? it's driving me mental as I just had it running perfect prior to this!

Forgot to add, it's recently had new p-bushes fitted at carls, plus new shocks and eibach springs so it's lowered 25/30mm.

Any help would be grateful. Smile

'00 Astor Grey GTi-6 - Regretfully sold!
'89 Onyx Black 205 GTi 1.6

Posted 9th Sep 2009 at 01:24
oecken

Seasoned Pro

Post #2
+1 as im also after an answer, again droplinks were fine, check top strut mounts, mine were fine, my mechanic at home seemed to think it could easily be something like the ball joint, after a while its no longer "Ball" shaped, so its like a square trying move, it just clunks, mines only at low speed also, normally whilst turning to full lock, got the MOT in the morning, asking them to look at the clunk after its passed (funnily enough) so il let you know what i find if you havnt posted a cure! Big grin