displaying posts 1 to 10 of 10

Author Subject: 306 GTi6/Rallye Vs ZX16V
kampungboy

Post #1
Hi all,

I'm a newbie from Malaysia.. Just got myself a ZX16V as I'm not able to get a gti-6 here..

306 GTi6/Rallye always considered as the best hot hatch in 90s... 205gti for 80s..

I know other than the look (exterior and interior), the key differences are the engine (155hp vs 167hp) and gearbox (5 vs 6 spd).

What is the main suspension difference between the GTI6/Rallye and ZX16V that make the 306 so good/fun to drive/handle?

thanks Big grin
Posted 13th Aug 2009 at 12:15
welshpug!

Capt Pedantic

Post #2
I like my zx as much as the 306, maybe more so!

stiffer rear torsion bars, and no rear toe in which is supposed to make the turn in a lot sharper.

they use the same front springs as the Phase 1 Xsara, so quite stiff really all-round as they do weigh a bit less.

Do you get the RFS engine in your ZX's? (Dakar they're called rather than 16v IIRC) they did in Europe and South America!

We only got the RFY over here, though I do have an RFS in my ZX Big grin

need a part number? get on here - http://public.servicebox.peugeot.com

Bring on the Trumpets.

Posted 13th Aug 2009 at 15:36
kampungboy

Post #3
over here zx16v are rare.. shd be less than 150 units in the country.. we only have RFY here.. so mine is original RFY.. i heard there are few converted to RFS+6sp from gti6.. some even with xsara or 306gti front body.. maybe next year i can convert mine to RFS+6sp.. maybe i can make my zx a 306rallye in zx body Big grin

but at this stage, i would learn how to handle the car... and would like to know why gti-6 is superior and zx so underated..

so far i found zx has stiffer rear torsion bars (21mm vs 20mm), no rear toe in (0 vs 4.2mm), same rear ARB (24mm) and lower front springs (lower by 25mm?).. the front & rear tracks are different.. zx f/r 1432/1425mm, 6 is 1462/1435mm. zx has quicker steering ratio (2.4 vs 2.9)? Unsure